2017 Planning Planners for Planning

I sure love my bullet journal. Before bullet journaling I had a planner, a notebook for lists and ideas, a journal, and an assortment of notepads and sticky notes. I didn’t go anywhere without at least three notebooks. It was ridiculous.

My bullet journal system has changed and evolved and I feel like I’m just now hitting my stride. I know what I like and I know what I don’t like. As 2017 approaches I’m figuring out what my 2017 bullet journal will look like. There are a few things I know for sure I’m going to change, but I need some help with figuring out other issues.

I’m fairly certain I’ll be changing my future log: In the past I’ve had just a space to jot down upcoming events that are well over a month in the future. What I need is for the front of my journal to have a page for each month of the year so I can write things down to the day. Seriously, I plan things way in advance. For example I have a doctor appoint for Atticus and one for me scheduled in January. Those appointments were scheduled in mid-October. I need to be aware of work projects, meetings, Sam’s school and work schedule and any other events going on before I book doctor appointments and other events. I need more than a list, I need a firm date to write stuff down. I don’t feel that I’ve explained this well, but in a few weeks I hope to have a few pictures to illustrate.

How many journals to have? I know I said I don’t want to go back to having more than one journal, but hear me out. I think I’m going to have three bullet journals next year. One will be my holy bible of bullet journals, one for work, and one specifically for graduate school. The work bullet journal will stay on my desk at work, but I’m hoping it will help me plan a bit more into the future and allow me to better balance special projects and events with my daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly tasks. The graduate school bullet journal will mostly be for taking notes and planning out my projects and papers. .

Here is where I really need help. Having a weekly layout is my favorite component of my bullet journal. I love being able to see the week’s tasks, meals, and appointments in one spot and I like tracking my daily chores and weekly goals in this layout. HOWEVER, going to graduate school on top of working full-time and having three kids has me worried. I am really going to need to focus and use my time wisely. I feel like it would be helpful to have a weekly layout AND the schedule for each day. All of my days are not the same and I’ll need to divide up household tasks, kid stuff, and graduate school assignments with precision and effectiveness. Is doing my weekly layout and then having a half-page or page for each day too much? Is it possible to combine my weekly and daily spread someway? I’m not really sure. I’ve been down a Pinterest rabbit hole trying to visualize everything. Hit me up if you have suggestions.

In the meantime, check out the beauty of my spread this week:

 

20161211_210525.jpg

3 comments

  1. I’ve definitely found that having multiple calendars in the future planning section is a lifesaver. I usually do six months ahead in each journal, then have half-pages for the rest of the year in that section. It really does help!

  2. I suck at a Future Log. I still keep a detailed calendar on Google that I share with the family and never really got around to transferring it to paper. I have a work bullet journal too. The only thing from work I carry over into my mother bujo are work meetings. I like know how busy I am going to be on any given day before I get to work that day. It helps me plan my outfits and gets me thinking about what I need/want/hope to accomplish that day.

    As to your dilemma, would a dutch-door system work? I confess to skipping the weekly layouts and just do daily layouts. It works best for me but that is the beauty of bujos!

  3. I’m with you – I need a weekly so I can see what’s coming, and then details for the day. That’s the beauty of bujo, though, creating the layout that works best for you. I hadn’t thought of pinterest for bujo ideas! (I have a feeling I’m about to lose some time… 🙂 ). I’ve gotten lots of ideas on instagram, though. Happy planning to you!

Leave a Reply

