Readerly Rambles: a post-Readathon wrap-up!

girlreadingI took a break from readathon volunteering this past weekend. Typically I help co-host, manage Twitter in spots, and run a mini-challenge. After the busyness of a conference, work pressure, and moving house, I decided to take a more relaxed approach. I woke at 7:30, stumbled downstairs in my pjs and read. I drank coffee. I stayed away from social media for the most part. I took a break for several hours in the evening and then read until midnight. On Sunday I didn’t read at all. I slept and set up my bullet journal for the week.

My goal with this readathon was to get back into reading. The last book I finished prior to readathon was back in September. Mischief managed! I finished two books and got my reading mojo back. Below are two very brief mini-reviews of my reads.

The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

A vintage mystery that centers around detective Alan Grant puzzling out the mystery of Richard III and the princes in the tower while he is on the mend from a leg injury. Predictable, but fascinating. My librarian brain is thinking that excerpts of this novel would be great in a library instruction class to illustrate evaluating sources, uncovering bias, and the importance of primary resources.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

What a page turner! You guys were right, I loved this one. There is really no way to write about the story without giving it away, but there is an element I want to talk about so SPOILER WARNING!!!!

The Girl on the Train deserves a trigger warning for domestic violence. You should know that every man in this book is an absolute dickhead. If you are one of the folks who “cannot understand why a woman stays” in an abusive relationship, then this one is for you. Gaslighting. Isolation. Slowly chipping away at self-esteem. Charming behaviors and romance during the “good” times. All of this is here and all of it is intergral to the story. Of course, if does tie up neatly at the end, but that’s expected in thrillers. I recommend this one as I was so enthralled I forgot my coffee and my ice cream!

In April I’ll be back to full volunteering and social media hovering, but this readathon was good for my bookish soul. I’m back to reading and about to dig into some short stories.

Happy Reading!

 

3 comments

  1. I was thinking that I didn’t see you much on social media. Now I understand why and glad you were able to participate the way you wanted. Hope to see you in April, and of course before then, here on the blog, from time to time.

  2. I don’t think you were the only one who took a break on social media and made this readathon more about enjoying the reading aspect of it. I think this readathon had a much more laid-back feel all around, and I loved that. I’m so glad you were able to find your reading mojo again!

Leave a Reply

