Readerly Rambles: 19 September 2016

readerlyramblescanva

 

What I finished: Not a damn thing.

What I’m reading: I have three books going at the moment. I am participating in #GerminalAlong, but I’m behind. Last week I read the first 50 pages and I’m ready to read more. Germinal is a favorite that I haven’t read in ages. I’m also dipping into The Virago Book of Ghost Stories for RIP XI. It is perfectly spooky for rainy days (now if the cooler temps could just get here!). For poetry I’m reading Rupi Kaur’s Milk and Honey. Can I be honest? I don’t love it. I am deeply moved by the subject manner and as a sort of journaling about trauma, but I don’t dig this style of poetry. It verges on the cloyingly over dramatic. I’ll finish it and see if my opinion changes.

What’s up next: I’m hoping to finish at least one of the above titles this week and pick up some Patricia Highsmith reading for next week.

 

Happy Reading!

3 comments

  1. We had way too many activities this weekend which resulted in zero reading time, and it’s thrown me off. I want to read, but I’m not in the mood for the things I had started so I’m feeling the need to go peruse the shelves for something a little more fall-ish…
    Happy reading to you!

Leave a Reply

