R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI

Hey yo, look whose blogging!

Carl’s darkly delightful R.I.P. Challenge started on September 1st and runs through Halloween and I’m joining in! Carl describes RIP as:

“…a quest to bring a community of readers together to enjoy the literature most associated with the darkening days and cooling temperatures of Autumn:

Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Gothic
Horror
Dark Fantasy”

I’m all about some autumn reading. I’ll be participating in several of the “perils.”

ripnineperilfirst

This peril is to read four books in the above genres (genre is loosely applied here). I present my RIPXI List:

  • Eyes on the Island by Frank Reddy
  • Suspension of Mercy by Patricia Highsmith
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  • The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero

ripnineperilshort

I’ll be dipping into The Virago Book of Ghost Stories and The Thing on the Doorstep by H.P. Lovecraft to get my short story fix.

ripnineperilscreen

I haven’t watched a blasted movie or TV show in ages. Let’s see here, I’ll try to watch at least three creepy things. I need to determine what I want to watch. There will certainly be some vintage horror in there.

Let me know if you’re joining in the spooky fun and what you have on your RIP list! 

 

 

 

8 comments

  1. When I finally shelved my copy of The Supernatural Enhancements this week I kind of decided that I need to reread it this season. It’s great! Right now I’m reading a Delia Sherman middle grade book that’s coming out this month, The Evil Wizard Smallbone. It’s nicely different than lots of other middle grade magic books so I’m having fun with it. Anyway, enjoy the season!

  2. This is (next to Readathon) my favorite reading event of the year. I’m a little behind in my list making this year, but I know I’m going to prioritize The Shadow of the Wind by Zafon, and some of my Louise Penny books. Hopefully I’ll have time to pull a list together before the weekend is over. Happy reading to you!

  3. Welcome to RIP 11!!! Hard to believe it has been over a decade.

    Not sure what it is about this year (which has been a good one) but I am SO in the mood for autumn temperatures, colors, scents and of course books and movies that encompass the spirit of the season.

    Thanks for being a part of this year’s event.

  4. Hurrah! Truly the most excellent of all reading challenges! I’m glad you’ll be joining in. I haven’t built my reading list yet because I am the laziest and worst but I am determined to at least TRY Stranger Things. I’m worried I’ve waited too long! I’m worried the hype train has overhyped it and my expectations will be too high and I won’t enjoy it!

  5. I read The Supernatural Enhancements for RIP a few years ago and it was a GREAT choice. I think you’re really going to like it. Also happy to see you blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

