Rest in Peace, Grandpa

At 7:06 pm on Sunday, July 10th, my grandpa took his final breath. After a hard afternoon it was all over. he was surrounded by his children and his wife, my grandmama. That afternoon I wasn’t at my grandparents’s home. I was at my house with the kids, Sam, my sister, my niece, my brother, and sister-in-law. The kids played, we talked, and it was really nice (even though the situation wasn’t great).

I spent today at my grandmama’s home. Crying some, hugging lots, and doing that Southern woman thing where I bring too much food and constantly encourage folks to fill-up their plates. 

I was honored my family asked me to write his obituary and I’m emailing it to the funeral home this evening. My grandpa was brilliant, funny, and a regular Renaissance man who painted, woodworked, and played the mountain dulcimer. He loved camping, Spam sandwiches, and politics. 

I’ll be taking a blog break for a few days to spend time with family and find a few pockets of quiet. 

Hug your family, y’all. 

12 comments

  1. Many hugs, Amanda. A beautiful picture and a lovely memory. I laughed at the spam sandwiches–maybe our grandpas are in heaven right now eating their spam. ๐Ÿ˜‰ xo

Leave a Reply

