Summer Fun, Sorta

When I left work Friday afternoon I went to Aldi, came home and did a few chores, and then settled in for a few hours of writing. When I put my poem to bed and packed away my writing materials I decided to do absolutely no work for a few days. By no work I mean no checking things off my brain to do list: reading, writing, blogging, etc….

This holiday weekend has been an absolutely lovely break. I spent time with the kids; we swam, went out for ice cream, and spent plenty of time inside watching movies. Hope and I went shopping. Lunch date on Sunday with Mom. Cheesy movie watching with Sam and Hope (honestly, Pride and Prejudice and Zombie stayed closer to the book compared to some adaptations). Napping, coffee, loads of Candy Crush. I did my usual July 1st ritual: pinning autumn things. Seriously, I hate summer (we neared triple digits) and I’m reading for dead leaves, cardigans, and pumpkin-infused scents. And no, we didn’t “do” anything for the 4th of July. I’m not paying $10 a car to sweat my ass off, battle mosquitoes, and take a potty-training kid to a porta-potty. No thank you.

Tomorrow it is back to work, but not really. I’m taking a few days of vacation, but I certainly have some plans to work on writing. My goal is two hours of poetry writing and an hour of editing and two hours of other writing. Under other writing you can file a writer’s retreat application and essay and several essays for graduate school applications. Oh yes, blogging. Maybe blogging.

Happy Fourth of July, y’all and Happy 79 days, 12 hours and 25 minutes until autumn begins!

3 comments

  1. I’m with you! I enjoy summer, but from the shade of my own backyard with our bathroom and AC just a few steps away.

    I hope you enjoy your vacation days and get a lot of writing done.

  2. I unplugged for vacation and when we got back I basically took a break from everything. While it was awesome, I’m having SUCH a hard time getting back into the swing of things! Ha! Come on, Andi! So glad you’ve had a good break. I hope you’re feeling rejuvenated and getting lots of writing done.

Leave a Reply

