Scribbles: 12 June 2016

Weather: 91 and raining. Afternoon thunderstorms predicted for later today.

Location: At my favorite coffeeshop, Inman Perk, drinking an iced vanilla latte with almond milk.

Reading: I DNF Jane Steele by Lyndsey Faye. The reasons are personal and not literary; that’s all I’ll say for now. Pretty sure there is a messy blog post puttering around in my brain with thoughts on my experience of reading Jane Steele. On the poetry front, I picked up Maggie Nelson’s collection Bluets. I cannot even explain the beauty and complexity of this collection. Part color theory, part philosophy, part memoir, and wholly poetic.

Writing: I only finished a half-draft of a poem last week as I was working on another project. Added another rejection notice to the pile. That’s only four rejections so I’m not discouraged yet. Poetry is competitive; rejections are a part of it.

Listening: Lorde. Mogwai. Glasser. Moody techno-y sounds.

Cooking: We had friends over for dinner last night and I made a chicken alfredo pasta bake and my friends brought salad and berries. Ice cream sandwiches for dessert. Tonight I’m making turkey burgers. A reader asked me for my recipe for turkey burgers; honestly we’re just having Butterball turkey patties tonight. I had a coupon and I tend t phone it in on cooking in the summer. It is too hot to hang in the kitchen!

Blogging: Whelp. It didn’t take me long to completely and utterly fail at 99 posts in 99 days, but yay for at least one week of solid effort! I really want to change my blog template, but I plan to spend June tinkering and then roll out something new in July.

Family Updates!

Sam: Working. Arting. More working. More arting.

Hope: Loads of time at the pool. I hardly see her! She left today to go to her grandparents’ house for a few days.

Atticus: Quote of the week, “Mom, when I whisper something into my heart you can hear me and when you whisper into your heart I hear you. Our hearts are connected. Like when you pray and it goes up into the sky into God’s heart.”

Persy Jane: She has a new Hello Kitty bed. She really likes it because she is actually staying in her bed at night (for the most part). When she throws a tantrum she tells us, “don’t talk to me, worry about your ownself!” Threenager all the way.

 

That’s what’s going on in my neck of the woods. Have a great week, y’all! 

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

