Readerly Rambles: Classic Club Spin Edition

Rumor has it that a new Classics Club spin challenge is in the works. I haven’t gone to the website to verify because I’m pretty sure the number has been announced and I don’t want to “cheat” on my list. Okay, so 20 classics to read. Making my list and then I’ll tweet the “winner” once I check the site.

  1. Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead by Barbara Comyns
  2. Let Me Tell You by Shirley Jackson
  3. The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope
  4. A Few Green Leaves by Barbara Pym
  5. A Suspension of Mercy by Patricia Highsmith
  6. Summer Will Show by Sylvia Townsend-Warner
  7. Friends and Relations by Elizabeth Bowen
  8. The Professor’s House by Willa Cather
  9. The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens
  10. Swan Song by John Galsworthy
  11. The Judge by Rebecca West
  12. Stoner by John Williams
  13. Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy
  14. The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing
  15. The Black Prince by Iris Murdoch  WINNER!
  16. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  17. A Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh
  18. The Brimming Cup by Dorothy Canfield
  19. Shirley by Charlotte Bronte
  20. The Evil Genius by Wilkie Collins

classicsclub

One comment

  1. I finally picked up The Small House at Allington back in ?March ?April – read about the first 4 chapters and then got distracted. I can’t figure out what it is about the Barchester Chronicles. I enjoy them once I’m in to them, but it is hard work for me to take the time to get in to them.
    You’ve got a lot of good titles on this list! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

