Two Challenges: Because I’m Just That Crazy

Today I was back at work; I handled interlibrary loan, booked my hotel for a Georgia library conference, worked on a proposal, planned some marketing initiatives, and did a little bit of library social media. Also, argued with Hope’s insurance, had lunch with colleagues, and when I got off work I had 55 minutes to write before Sam picked me up. I edited one poem and copy-edited several drafts. I also sent in a poetry submission because I’ve been working on collecting rejection notices. My collection is successfully growing.

Then it was home to coordinate the teenager heading to a sleepover, cook dinner, play with kids, and do the dishes. Now I’m sitting here  while my crazed three-year-old is running in circles and I’m thinking, “why not pile on some more stuff to do?”

Friends, let me tell you I have truly gone off my rocker and signed up for more stuff to do!

99-Days-of-Summer-Blogging

First up is Melissa’s 99 days of blogging challenge. GUESS WHAT? I’m starting out a day behind. #nailedit. I have had major MAJOR blog blues and I’m hoping this will either rekindle my love for blogging or totally burn me out. Either way, my hope is that by the end of the summer I won’t still be whining about my blog malaise.

20booksfinal (1)

Yes, summer reading. I’m ready for it. Cathy is hosting the 20 Books of Summer challenge again and I am all over it. I’ve picked a pool of 30 books to choose from with the goal being to complete 20 of them. Here’s my list:

  1. Bitch Planet #2 by Kelly Sue DeConnick
  2. This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki
  3. Lumberjanes #2 by Noelle Stevenson
  4. Ms. Marvel #2 by G. Willow Wilson
  5. Saga #2 by Brian K. Vaughan
  6. Bluets by Maggie Nelson
  7. My Feelings by Nick Flynn
  8. The Poet, The Lion, Talking Pictures, El Farolito, A Wedding in St. Roch, The Big Box Store, The Warp in the Mirror, Spring, Midnights, Fire & All by C.D. Wright
  9. Uses of the Body by Deborah Landau
  10. Unmentionables: Poems by Beth Ann Fennelly
  11. Garments Against Women by Anne Boyer
  12. The Beauty: Poems by Jane Hirshfield
  13. Night Sky with Exit Wounds by  Ocean Vuong
  14. Best New American Poets 2015
  15. Best Amercian Poetry 2015
  16. The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath
  17. The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson
  18. Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig
  19. We Should all be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  20. Charlotte Bronte: A Fiery Heart by Claire Harman
  21. God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
  22. The Miniaturist  by Jessie Burton
  23. What is Not Yours is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi
  24. The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
  25. Department of Speculation by Jenny Offill
  26. Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead by Barbara Comyns
  27. The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope
  28. Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
  29. A Few Green Leaves by Barbara Pym
  30. Let Me Tell You by Shirley Jackson

There we have it. My best laid summer plans. Lots of blogging, lots of reading, lots of crazy.

 

 

11 comments

  1. Hooray – welcome to 20booksofsummer and a good choice to give yourself 30 to pick from. I don’t know many of yours, but 26 through 29 are all great! Have fun! I’m “just” doing 20books, my Dorothy Richardson readalong and Heaven-Ali’s Woolfalong …

  2. Brilliant you are! I’ve been so tempted to join in the 20 books of summer challenge, but knew without question that I could never stick with a pre-made list of 20. But a pool of 30 (or 40…) to choose my 20 from, that I could maybe handle.

  3. Good luck with your two challenges. I would find the 99 days of blogging the more challenging one. I’ll have to remember your idea to create a pool of books to choose from for next year. This year, I only listed 15 to leave me a little room for unexpected bookish temptations.

  4. Well damn, lady! This list is fabulous. I’m sure I’ll end up swapping some of my bigger books for comics, but we’ll see how it goes. Enjoy your books and the blogging! My list is on the blog if you want to check it out. 🙂

  5. You are ambitious as hell, girl! It looks like a lot of fun plans, and if it stops being fun you can just stop doing them. Yay for blogging as a voluntary hobby! 😀

    I need to go back and read Sylvia Plath’s journals again. I read them — not all all all of them, but dipping in and out — when I was in college and found them weirdly mesmerizing. I’m wondering what I’d make of them now. I’m guessing I’d find Sylvia Plath a bit more annoying and self-dramatizing than I did in my younger (more annoying, more self-dramatizing) years.

  6. Can I add to your summer crazies by telling you that I’ve just spotted a new #CCspin at The Classics Club!

    Good luck with all that reading and blogging.

Leave a Reply

