Readerly Rambles: 19 April 2016

What I read:

On Saturday night I finished up The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. This is the first book in his Flavia de Luce mystery series. I absolutely loved it and I especially adored Flavia’s spunky and precocious personality! It was the perfect read last week. Persy Jane was sick with a tummy bug and I have been battling one heck of a sinus infection. An engaging, light read with wonderful characters was just what I needed.

What I’m reading:

Last night I started Willa Cather’s A Lost Lady. I do love the descriptions of the land, moon, and characters, but once again there is a teenager / young man viewing the lady in question through his eyes. We’ll see how it goes. I’m also still reading the Hollander and Plath poetry collections.

What’s up next:

READATHON!!! Readathon means a fresh new pile of books. Once again I decided to pick a “theme” for my readathon. Saturday it will be nothing but Fiercely Feminist reading.

Non-Fiction:

We Should all be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

How to be a Heroine by Samantha Ellis

The Sexual Politics of Meat by Carol J. Adams

Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit

Pro by Katha Pollitt

 

Short Stories:

American Housewife by Helen Ellis

 

Poetry:

Open House by Beth Ann Fennelly

The Uses of the Body by Deborah Landau

The Fall by Ana Bozicevic

 

Fiction:

Kindred by Octavia Butler

The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood

 

Graphic Novels:

Are you My Mother? by Alison Bechdel

Bitch Planet, v. 1 by Kelly Sue Deconnick

Lumberjanes, v. 1 by Noelle Stevenson

Ms. Marvel, v. 1 by G. Willow Wilson

Supermutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki

 

My goal is to finish Cather, Hollander, and Plath by Friday evening so I can start fresh on Saturday. Let me know if you’re participating this weekend and I’ll stop by to say hi!

 

Happy Reading!
2 comments

Leave a Reply

