Readerly Rambles: The February Wrap-up Edition

What I Read:

February was a pretty fantastic reading month for me. I finished seven books:

  • The Well of Loneliness by Radclyffe Hall
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  • Life After Life by Kate Atkinson (to be reviewed this week)
  • Fables #22: Farewell by Bill Willingham
  • Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed
  • Fairest #2: The Hidden Kingdom by Lauren Beukes
  • The Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett (slated to be reviewed next week)

Challenges:

A Quick Recap on how I’m progressing on various challenges (keep in mind some books count for several challenges:

ReadMyOwnDamnBooksbutton

Read My Own Damn Books:

I set a goal to read 24 books from my “already owned” shelf for 2016. I’m pleased that I’ve read six books from my stacks! All the other books I’ve read have been borrowed from friends or the library.

I bought books once, but that is because the library was hosting a poetry reading. I purchased two poetry collections (one from Margot Schilpp and one from Jeff Mock) and had them signed. That doesn’t count, right?

I’m treating myself to book buying for my birthday in late April. How much I spend is determined on how much I read from my shelves and the library and how much I purge. I “earn” $1 from every library book read, $2 for every book on my shelf read, and $1 for every book purged. Thus far I’ve earned: $27 towards my birthday book buying.

March TBR Pile:

marchtbr

Not pictured: My current audiobook The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters, another audiobook Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, an ARC poetry collection entitled Lifeboat by Kristine Ong Muslim and A Lost Lady by Willa Cather.

This is an ambitious stack of books. I certainly know I will not read all of them, but this is the pile I will be choosing from. I’m shooting for five to seven books this month.

 

7 comments

  1. Ahhh!!! So many things! NIMONA and TINY BEAUTIFUL THINGS and STORY OF A HAPPY MARRIAGE are all favorites! (Can’t wait to read your review on the last.) As are SWEETNESS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PIE and GOLDFINCH from your TBR pile. Can’t wait to see what you think of them!

  2. I’ve had my eye on Story of a Happy Marriage for a while as well as Life after Life, so I’ll look forward to reading your thoughts. I LOVE the Flavia de Luce books – there’s just something about Flavia that makes me want to be a 12 year old detective in England. 🙂 And, Ready Player One surprised me. I’m not normally a big sci-fi/dystopian fan, but I really enjoyed it. I read the book and dh listened to the audio – it was fun to talk about along the way. Happy reading! (And, yes, I’m going to once again applaud you on your reading-to-purchase plan – ingenious!)

  3. I love the idea of earning a book splurge! I just finished my birthday, so maybe I can start saving now (based on a different rate, since I have no unread books on my shelves) for next year!

  4. I love your method of saving up for a book splurge! It is so creative and yet I can see how it would entice you to read as much as possible.

    That is quite the impressive list of March potentials. I hope you are making great progress and are enjoying the ones you selected so far!

Leave a Reply

