#BBAW: Day 3, Blogger Recommended Books

Today the Estella Society is challenging Book Blogger Appreciation Week participants to list books we’ve read that have been recommended by fellow bloggers. I say challenge because sometimes it is hard for me to remember where I first heard of a book. At times they’ll be certain chatter about a particular title and it is difficult to identify in my brain the first person to recommend the title. I’m sure I’ve left bloggers and titles out.

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson (recommended by Simon at Savidge Reads)

Excellent Women by Barbara Pym, Jornal of a Solitude by May Sarton, and Richmal Crompton (Thomas at Hogglestock)

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (Andi at Estella’s Revenge)

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters (Heather at Capricious Reader)

White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi and Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton and the non-fiction work of Deborah Blum (Eva at The Charm of It)

Among Others by Jo Walton (cannot remember the blogger, but he/she told me it had interlibrary loan in it and that bumped it up the TBR list)

East of Eden by John Steinbeck (a CLEAR winner when I asked bloggers and readers to vote on my next read)

All Joy and No Fun: The Paradox of Modern Parenthood by Jennifer Senior (Amanda at The Zen Leaf)

I would feel remiss if I didn’t mention my non-blogger friends who “get me” when it comes to choosing books. They continue to recommend fabulous titles and we can really do some damage in a bookstore together: Shannon W, Melissa H, Kim B, Catherine M, Becca E, Traci G, and Amanda J.

 

4 comments

  1. Oh my gosh, if I tried to list out books all you people have gifted me with recommendations over the years…well let’s just say I ought not to publish a novel on my blog. 😀

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has a tough time remembering who recommended which book. I used to make a note of it, but I have gotten rather bad about writing it down. Maybe that should be a goal of mine for this year!

  3. I keep meaning to read Life After Life. I need to put that book where I can see it. I’ve enjoyed other Kate Atkinson books. So, thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

