Honey Cake with Caramelized Apples

I really like winter. Well, what we here in Georgia call winter. I love the grey, gusty days and long for banks of snow. So far this year we’ve had two and a half days of snow. That’s it. We were out early for a half a day, had one day of mostly ice with a little snow, and then earlier this week we had an entire day of lovely, fat flakes with zero accumulation.

Sigh.

20160122_152158

On one of our icy days I decided to bake. It keeps the house toasty and one can make any occasion a party with cake. It took awhile for me to find a recipe. I didn’t have enough ingredients for every thing I wanted to make.

I went searching through my recipe notebook and found this recipe for Honey Cake with Caramelized Apples that I first made in the fall of 2008 when Sam and I were newly engaged after a few months of dating.

20160122_152202

There was always baking going on in those early romance days. It was back when I was trying to convince Sam that marrying me would give him a life of endless, delicious baked goods and tons of sex. He bought it hook, line, and sinker.

To show how much things have changed, this baking success did not lead to a night of passion. Instead, Sam and I ate our cake at the table with steaming mugs of tea while the two little kids screamed, writhed, and bemoaned losing cake for snack due to endlessly clubbing one another over the head.

20160122_162245

Life has changed so much in these few years, but the tastiness of this recipe has stayed the same. This is a dense, gingerbread-like cake and features tea, honey, and apples for the win.

I wanted to link to the recipe where I first found the it, but sadly the blog – Baking and Books – is no more. I tried to even hunt down the blogger’s last known blog – The Vegetarian Family Table – but with no luck. Oh well, recipe is down below.

20160122_163404

Honey Cake with Carmelized Apples

  • Preheat oven to 350 and spray bread pan with no-stick baking spray (not a flavored one, yuck)
  • Whisk together 1.5 C all purpose flour, 1.5 t baking powder, 3/4 t baking soda, 1/2 t salt, 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t cloves, 1/4 t all spice, and 1/4 t nutmeg
  • In a mixer, cream 1 stick of room temperature butter and 1/2 C packed brown sugar
  • Add 1 large egg to the creaming mixture
  • Add to the sugar mixture 2/3 C honey, 1/2 C plain yogurt, 1/2 C warm Earl Grey, 1 t vanilla. Mix well at a medium speed until the ingredients are incorporated.
  • Add dry ingridents slowly and mix on low until just combined. Do not overmix!
  • Pour into bread pan and bake 35 to 45 minutes. Check after 35 minutes for doneness.

For the apples:

  • Melt 4 T soft butter in a pan on medium heat
  • Add 6 peeled and sliced apples
  • Sprinkle a little brown sugar and cook until almost tender
  • Increase heat to high
  • Add 4 T brown sugar
  • Cook until sugar melts

honeycake

5 comments

  1. oh. my. goodness. Going to try this soon – it looks and sounds delicious. As for winter, did we have winter this year? It’s been in the upper 70’s and low 80’s here this past week. I think I heard the other day that we’ve only had 2 nights below freezing, but just barely – nothing below 30 degrees. Granted, we don’t get a ton of winter in any given year, but this has me wanting to migrate north! (Just for a couple of weeks, though.) I’m hoping and praying this doesn’t mean we’re going to have a hotter-that-average summer. Happy weekend to you!

  2. OMG!!!! First, don’t know how I missed your link until now — BBAW??? (gotta blame someone, right? LOL!!) Anyway. This sounds amazing. Seriously. I am so curious about it, especially with that tea.

Leave a Reply

