Goodbye November, Hello December

NovemberCollage2

 

Goodbye, November!

Highlights: This month was one rich with celebrating friendship and family while also making strides in my career.

  • My favorite thing about November was meeting up with blogging friends in Texas. Blogging has enriched and blessed my life in so many ways, but mostly in filling it with dear friends and wonderful books.
  • Our Thanksgiving this year was truly a Friendsgiving with my dear college friend, Nicky, and her beau Eric, spending the holiday with us. We ate a ton, drank gallons of coffee, and talked into the wee hours of the night after the kids went to bed.
  • We had family pictures made, FINALLY. Sam and I had a marvelous evening out. The Christmas tree is decorated and the house is cozy. November has been great for bringing our family closer.
  • My career has grown this month. I learned so much at the Library Marketing and Communication conference and met some great people. We had several successful outreach campaigns at work. I was tapped to be the Public Relations Chair for the Georgia Library Association and I’m super excited and slightly terrified of that appointment (so much work to do in one year!). I’ve also decided to apply to graduate school for next fall.

What I read:

  • Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J K Rowling
  • Among Others by Jo Walton
  • Fables #21, Happily Ever After by Bill Willingham

What I made: Not much! I finished up five of the alphabet washcloths, blocked them and mailed them to a friend who just had a baby. I have an owl dishcloth on the needles right now, but I really need to get my butt in gear for holiday stitching!

Family Update: Sam is taking final exams this week and November was certainly a mad rush of studying and projects. Hope pulled an ACL ligament in her shoulder during weight training, but she is much better and has been released for light weight training now, which is good because she is in the midst of track conditioning. Atticus is growing like a weed and is really showing his creativity (just like dad). Crayoned stars on the wall and constant color around here. I’ve also noticed that he doesn’t like to put LEGO kits together, he wants to do his own thing with LEGOS and makes some pretty cool stuff. Persy Jane had a bit of a rough month with a UTI, but she is back to her sassy self. I bought her a silvery grey tutu-type skirt at Old Navy on clearance and she wants to wear that every. single. day.

Hello, December!

Anticipating: Christmas and vacation time. Once again I have four weeks off this holiday season. From December 12th until January 11th I will be at home. Two of the weeks will be filled with family, but *should* have two weeks of the kids in school and me at home. INTROVERTING AT LAST! We’re wrapping up (pun intended) shopping for the kids and I cannot wait to start my Christmas baking.

TBR: Check it out!

decemberTBR

Upcoming projects:

  • Book swap gifts, teacher gifts, family gifts!
  • Finish the dishcloth, Sam’s scarf and the Charlie Brown crocheted baby blanket.
  • Crafts with the kids
  • BAKING!
  • Prepping for the new year (aka organization heaven)

I hope your November was rad! Let me know what you are looking forward to in December!

5 comments

  1. Love these monthly recaps! Sounds like a great season. So glad Hope is doing better. I have to admit my favorite week of the year is coming – in between Christmas and New Year – no one works, we don’t go anywhere, and we don’t entertain. It’s the “planning/goal-making/sit-around-in-your-jammies-and-read-all-day-if-you-want/play board games, etc. extravaganza at our house. All the more protected now that we have 2 in college we don’t see as much. And, it may be our last one with everybody together. One of my olders has applied for an on campus job that will keep her working through most of the holidays next year (and the summer!). Gulp! How did we get this old? Not thinking about it today, though. I’m going to enjoy the moments while I have them. Praying for peace in your house as y’all get through the end of the semester!

  2. So much good stuff here, Amanda! So proud of you for your public relations appointment. I know you’ll kick ass. Visiting with you, Amanda G, and Trish really enriched my month to no end and made me value my online friendships all the more. Now I just wish I got to see you gals more often! Heather, too! Book blogger camp…not kidding. Enjoy your introverting! That TBR is irresistible.

Leave a Reply

