Readerly Rambles: 23 November 2015

readerly rambles

 

It has certainly been awhile since I’ve updated my reading. In fact, I think I’ve manged to go through nearly all of November with nary an update. Here’s a brief run down of what I’ve read since Readathon in October. Don’t worry, it isn’t much. I’ve read a smidgen of Young Adult novels. Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City. I enjoyed both books, but in a passive sort of way. They were enjoyable, but I think I like the photographs and the idea of the story more than the writing. It is my typical issue with YA, I like the story, but I want it written as an adult novel with more depth of character and world-building. I will most likely pick up Library of Souls – the third installment – but I’ll wait until it is available at the library.

I also re-read (for the fourth time I believe) Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. Beautiful, exciting, and yes… I still cry during the last fifty pages of the book. I will say this is the first time I realized that Dumbledore’s experience in the cave was very much like a PTSD flashback. It resonated for me in a much deeper way. I’m also amazed that I’ve moved from Dumbledore hero worship to a much more murky opinion of him. Harry so implicitly trusts him and, well, as we know by the end of the seventh book, Dumbledore knew so much more than he let on. I love the complexity of his character though. In fact, all of Rowling’s characters are so distinctive and human.

And that’s it. Alllll my reading for November thus far. Of course I have plans to catch-up on my Goodreads challenge and read nine books before December 31st. Let’s see what I have lined up.

I’d like to finish a few “in progress” books including Among Others by Jo Walton, The Thing on the Doorstep by HP Lovecraft, and the collection of Five Victorian Ghost Novels from Dover (really they are more like longer short stories or novellas). Christmas at Thompson Hall by Anthony Trollope for some holiday reading. Reading the second to the last volume of Fables (#21, I think). Ann Patchett’s The Story of a Marriage for some non-fiction. The Thirteenth Tale to satisfy my desire to re-read something bookish and Gothic. Maybe some mystery with The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle. Then I’ll round out the year with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Of course, as most book bloggers do, I am already planning out ideas for next year’s reading. I want to complete Galsworthy’s Forsyte Chronicles and Trollope’s Chronicles of Barset. I want to read more Viragos and fill my year with Willa Cather. Perhaps I’ll work in some poetry, too. Lots of plans, loads of lists, stacks and stacks of books. So perfectly satisfying.

Happy Reading!

 

 

2 comments

  1. I know what you mean about wanting more depth in YA books. I love the plot in most YA books. They are so much fun to read. But the characters are often flat and one-dimensional or way too immature for their age.

  2. Ah, Dumbledore. I think it is natural that we have a much more realistic opinion of Dumbledore by the end of the series. He is such a pivotal character that we suffer as much as Harry does when we realize he was not quite as benevolent as we initially thought. I think that proves, more than anything, how much we have grown as readers and how much Harry has grown as a person. That we can realize Dumbledore had some major flaws but we still appreciate and love him for it. Isn’t that what being human is all about, after all?

Leave a Reply

