#Readathon: Mini-Reviews and Plans

octoberreadathon1
Completed:

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson (audio) — I’ve read this book several times and truly enjoyed this audio version. It was chilling. I’ll be reviewing this book in more detail later this week.

Dark Horse Book of Hauntings – This is a compilation of haunting stories told in comic book style. It includes a standalone Mike Mignola Hellboy story. Each of the eight stories were tremendously creepy and beautifully executed.

The New Ghost by Robert Hunter – I loved this illustrations in this short graphic novel. A new ghost is nervous on the job and gets help from an unexpected friend.

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll – I adored this collection. The illustrations are stunning and the stories are evocative of Angela Carter. Thumbs way up!

In progress:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs- I started this one and didn’t get to read as much as I wanted. I gulped down the first 100 pages; I can tell I’m really going to like it!

Five Victorian Ghost Novels – I’ve only read the first novella, “The Uninhabited House” by Mrs. J.H. Riddell. It was creepy, but ends with a Scooby-Doo twist!

Next Read-a-thon:
The next read-a-thon will be on April 23rd. I’m going to try to do things a bit differently and change my schedule to fit in more reading. I tend to co-host around hour 5, so I usually spend my morning cheering, read a bit, co-host, mini-challenge and then pickup reading when the kids go to bed.

Instead I’m going to work on knocking out 5 solid hours of reading in the morning with a sprinkle of mini-challenge participating, co-host, and then cheer up until the mid-way survey. After the mid-way survey more reading and then mini-challenge hosting towards the end of the event (I already have my challenge planned and it will work best at the end). I love the social media aspect of read-a-thon, but I need to maximize my reading time too!
dewey2015fall
Leave a Reply

