Readerly Rambles: A RIPX Update

rip10500I thought I’d pop-in with an update for RIP X (aka R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril 10).

ripnineperilfirstMy Peril the First is in progress. In fact, I haven’t finished a single damn book for it, but no worries. Readathon will help me knock out my plan to read four creepy books by October 31st.

shrieks

I’m reading Lovecraft’s The Thing on the Doorstep and Other Weird Tales for this peril. I’ve read several, but so far my favorite has to be “Under the Pyramids (with Harry Houdini). The prose was so creepy and overwrought and there are some truly terrifying beasts under the pyramids! I don’t want to give it away, but it was very visual and succeeded in scaring the crap out of me.

mummy

Sam and I started watching Twin Peaks on Netflix back in September. We’re pacing ourselves and watching 2 to 3 episodes a week. I saw bits and pieces of this show growing up, but I seriously knew very little about it. I did know that is was probably something I would like. I’m completely addicted, but terrified.

SPOILER

Bob scares the every loving daylights out of me. Seriously, and I have a million owls and we all know “the owls are not what they seem.”

END SPOILER

owlbob

Lastly, the peril of the group read! Moar Owls! The Quick took a little time for me to get into, but I plowed through 100 pages on Friday while I was hanging out of the couch with a sick kiddo. It gets seriously badass and I am completely hooked.

crayowl

2 comments

  1. Love this. I’ve got something I’ve been waiting to mail you (until I had it “perfected,” – problem is I’m not sure what I need for it). Anyway, this post is causing me to think that I need to just mail it “as is” so that you can get some enjoyment out of it. And, yes, that is all I have to say about it. 🙂 Happy Monday!

  2. I adore owls. They will never be creepy to me. But The Quick? I am SO happy that is finally getting some attention. I loved it when I read it, but I feel like it just went nowhere.

Leave a Reply

