Goodbye, September and Hello, October

looking to October

Goodbye, September!

Highlights: This has been such a full month. The university was busy with students starting projects and papers. I love the library best when it is like this, busy… but busy in a fulfilling way.

I had so many events this month. The Decatur book festival and chance to hangout with Shannon and meet the ever-dapper Thomas in person, a date day with Sam in celebration of his birthday, Purity Ring concert with my friend Natasha, the first official meeting of the Young Democrats, lunches with friends and nights with knitters, and this past weekend a wonderful Welcome Autumn dinner with some good friends. At times I’ve felt so busy that I can hardly catch my breath, but it is a good busy. Yes, I am an introvert and I have been craving some peaceful time to write letters and read, but all of my busy days were filled with people close to my heart. You can’t get much better than that.

It wasn’t all hustle and bustle and excitement. Sam and I have been having regular dates on Friday and Saturday nights; these dates involve ice cream and watching an episode or two of Twin Peaks. I’ve taken to hiding on my lunch breaks to read. We’ve had loads of one-on-one time with the kids at the park or just watching them play at home. On the whole it has been really nice.

What I read: Well this is embarrassing. I only read one book in September. ONE BOOK. Of course that book was East of Eden by John Steinbeck. It was a chunkster and I had to take a break of about a week after reading it because no other book could quite live up to it. I am now five book behind in my GoodReads Challenge. Perhaps #15in31 and Readathon will help with that this month.

What I made: I spent a little more time in the kitchen this month, although not as much as I wanted. The first pumpkin spice baked good was made and consumed and I brought along some pumpkin baked beans to a dinner. I finished one baby blanket and I’m still working on my letter dishcloths.

Family Updates: Sam is busy with teaching and taking classes and tomorrow he takes the first two of his teacher exams. Hope has a new boyfriend and he is very nice. We had the dress code fallout that cost me a blog reader (cry me a bucket). After a dismissive email from the principal I wrote a letter to the superintendent. Still haven’t heard back. Atticus had only one minor blip, he told me didn’t want to do ballet after school. He wants to do ballet, but he said after school he wants to “put on jammies and play.” Oh my little introvert needs a recharge! We’ve moved him to an earlier afternoon class that he will start this week. His current hobbies include building forts and constructing elaborate fights between dragons, super heroes, and monsters. Persy Jane is suddenly busting out with complex sentences and a stubborn little will that is frustrating, amusing, and empowering all at once.

Hello, October!

Anticipating: I hadn’t anticipated that we would be starting the month out with a projectile vomiting toddler; we’re on day three and let’s hope it isn’t a nine-day stomach bug like last time.

I am anticipating quite a few things this month. First of all my work schedule changed. I’m back working every weekend, but on Sundays. I have the morning with the family and then go in later. This means that I have Fridays off to run errands (or read!) while the kids are in school. Also, Atticus won’t have to do afterschool which will save money and preserve family time. Oh yes, and there is a blissful regularity to my days.

October will also hold some fun events: a giant charity book sale, a day with my friend Catherine that includes seeing Of Monsters and Men, a date with Sam to watch the first Democratic debate with other liberals, a few days off for fall break, watching Crimson Peak with my friend Melissa, Readathon, an Art in the Park Bernie Sanders event, Atticus’s birthday, and Halloween. I’m also declaring October, Frocktober and plan to wear dresses as much as possible. Oh yes, and reading. Loads of reading plans.

My October TBR is ambitious (as usual), but I like to dream big:

  • In progress: The Quick by Lauren Owen, The Thing on the Doorstep and Other Weird Tales by HP Lovecraft, and We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson (audio).
  • Virago Project: Surfacing by Margaret Atwood
  • From my stacks: The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox
  • More audio: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman and The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
  • YA Series: Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City
  • Classic: The Haunted Hotel by Wilkie Collins
  • Contemporary: Among Others by Jo Walton
  • Graphic Novels: The Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde / Dark Horse Book of Hauntings / Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
  • On my Kindle: This House is Haunted by John Boyne
  • Non-Fiction: Will Storr Vs. the Supernatural by Will Storr
  • A Re-read: The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield

Upcoming projects: Planning Atticus’s birthday party. We are going to do something different this year, but I’m saving that for another post. Halloween costumes. I really want to dress the kids as special agent Dale Cooper and the Log Lady from Twin Peaks, but they want to be Batman and a princess. Sigh. Also, I want to get from F to R on my alphabet washcloths. I have other things to knit and these are really so easy. I need to just do it.

Okay, October… I’m ready for you!

2 comments

  1. Sorry to hear you haven’t heard back from the school district. Keep on bugging them!

    I have to laugh about all the October plans everyone is making. First reason: it’s marching band season here, which means that our days will be filled to the brim with nothing but band practice, band rehearsals, sectionals, band marching contests, and football games (with the band, of course). I have no time for anything else, though I’m somehow making time to throw a fall party with my cousin and a birthday party for the band-guy (heh). He wants a “corporate espionage” theme. Second reason: I see that 15-in-31 challenge and think, “Oh! I want a Less-than-5-in-October challenge!” because I read WAY too much in July/August. Heh. 😀

  2. I hope Persy is back to normal soon. What a busy time you have had. I feel like I’ve got more plates spinning in the air than I know what to do with, and it’s really kept me off of the computer. My older two girls are home from college for a week of fall break this week, so there will be shopping happening here. We’ve just had our first cooler days (out of the 90’s) which made them aware of how few fall clothes they actually have. I’m guessing I won’t be reading much. I’m not overly bothered by that – this is the first time we’ve seen them in 6 weeks and it’s just good to have them home. (I’m a little over halfway in The Secret History, though, and I would like to finish that up and see how it will be resolved!) Happy October to you! Maybe it be filled with much pumpkins and good reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

