Weekend Cooking: Pumpkin Everything Edition

wkendcooking

At last, it is officially autumn. I’m one of those gals who loves LOVES loves pumpkin spice. I’m not a fan of artificial pumpkin pie flavors (too sweet) and I don’t care for pumpkin spice flavored everything. You can keep your Oreos, Pop-tarts, sausage (?), etc…. I love pumpkin spice coffees and baked goods.

I think folks unfamiliar with baking may focus on the pumpkin aspect and not realize that the spice is really what must keep flowing. Pumpkin in baking adds a rich, creamy, subtle texture and flavor. If it tastes gross, you are probably using the wrong sort of pumpkin. Jack-o-lantern pumpkins are not intended for eating; they can be bland, bitter, or stringy. Go for the smaller “sugar” or “pie” pumpkins or grab a can of pumpkin from your grocery store. Truly, the pumpkin flavor is subtle, but it does wonders for texture and density.

The pumpkin spice is my favorite. Cinnamon, ginger, allspice, nutmeg, and maybe an teeny pinch of cloves is all it takes to make the spice to pair with the pumpkin. In truth my GINGER recipes just have more ginger equal amounts of cinnamon and ginger and contain molasses or dark brown sugar. My PUMPKIN recipes have more cinnamon than ginger and usually use light brown sugar or maple syrup. It is chemistry folks. Dislike pumpkin, but love ginger? Just an adjustment of spices (yet I don’t see snots making fun of gingerbread latte fans in the winter).

Don’t get me wrong, if you don’t like pumpkin spice you’re fine (more for me). I don’t like regular eggnog (I only like the soy version) because it is too heavy and I really hate berry flavors in my coffee (blueberry blend? barf). We all have different likes and dislikes and that’s cool. Autumn lends itself to baking and you can bake up a storm and avoid pumpkin.

But today is all about the pumpkin.

First off, I wanted to share my favorite pumpkin recipe ever. This vegan pumpkin snickerdoodle coffee cake is delicious and quick to put together. It is my go to staple for having folks over, cozy knitting nights, and last year I made it for Atticus’s birthday because one of his friends had a dairy and egg allergy.

I’m linking to the recipe (because copyright, yo!), but here it is:

vegancakeIt is pretty delicious.

I have several other pumpkin recipes I want to try this season. I’m having dinner with friends on Sunday and bringing along slow cooker Pumpkin Baked Beans. I hope they’re good. Here are some other recipes I hope to test this fall:

Throw your pumpkin-inspired recipes my way and I’ll give them a whirl. Not a pumpkin fan? That’s cool. I like all the autumn baking: apples, cranberries, ginger, etc… let me know what you’ll be baking.

4 comments

  1. I am not a HUGE pumpkin fan. I make a pumpkin bread for others that they rave about, it’s just ok to me, but I do like pumpkin pie and pumpkin soup. The soup is fabuloso and I’ll be glad to shoot you that recipe. Super, super easy!

  2. I’m not a huge pumpkin or pumpkin spice person. Pretty much the only place I like ginger, cloves, and nutmeg is in hard gingerbread or in a specific kind of molasses cookie. But I do like non-gingery non-nutmeggy pumpkin bread/muffins, especially with a cream cheese filling. I always liked pumpkin breads but never really pie (too rich!). We do have a good curried pumpkin soup recipe, but that’s not at all pumpkin spice. 😀 And I’m afraid the one PSL I had last year was enough probably forever. I mean, it wasn’t bad or anything, but I’m generally more of a black coffee no sugar kind of girl, and if I ever drink sweetened coffee, it’ll be chocolate.

Leave a Reply

