Top Ten Tuesday: My Autumn TBR

toptentuesdayToday the readers at Top Ten Tuesday ask what we have on our TBR pile. I couldn’t whittle my stack to 10 items, so here are a dozen books I’d like to read this fall.

Fall TBRCurrently Reading:

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Thing on the Doorstep and Other Weird Tales by H P Lovecraft

Ten Upcoming Reads:

Surfacing by Margaret Atwood

The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

The Haunted Hotel by Wilkie Collins

Among Others by Jo Walton

The Dark Horse Book of Hauntings

The Canterville Ghost: Graphic Novel by Oscar Wilde

This House is Haunted by John Boyne

Will Storr vs the Supernatural by Will Storr

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

Have you read any of these titles? Let me know if any in particular would be good to save for Readathon!

18 comments

  1. i read both miss peregrine’s and the sequel, and found myself enjoying them as i read, but wishing for more afterwards. does that make sense? it’s a quick read, and might be a good choice for readathon because of that.

    surfacing is so good. and creepy and unsettling. i read it for a colonial lit class (though i don’t know why, since Atwood is canadian, but there is no denying the quality of the writing) so i don’t know if it’s a quick read or not. i certainly pored over it, and would do so again in a heartbeat.

    thirteenth tale is also SO good. i think i need to reread it. also, intriqued by john boyne – that looks like a suitably haunting story for autumn.

  2. I have Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children on my Kindle but haven’t read it yet. I have heard nothing but good things about it. Hopefully we both get to it soon! My TTT

  3. Ooo, that looks like a good list. I haven’t read any of these, but I do have The Thirteenth Tale on my stack for R.I.P./fall reading. I also have a Wilkie Collins title, The Dead Secret. Others that I’m hoping to get to include: The Secret History by Donna Tartt, The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown, The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, In the Woods by Tana French, Gothic Tales by Elizabeth Gaskell, The Blood Promise by Mark Pryor, The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett, The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher by Kate Summerscale, The Martian by Andy Weir, and The Secret Rooms by Catherine Bailey.

    And, of course, my list is WAY too ambitious, and the weather will be WAY too warm for a fire, but hope springs eternal! After all, half the fun is making the list. 🙂
    Happy reading to you.

  4. So many great looking books in this list. Thanks so much for posting these up.
    I would add a recent paranormal mystery from Alex Alexander called Ghost on the lake.
    This book was really out there with very fresh ideas and a strong writing style that was very easy to follow. Anyone who enjoys ghost stories or a fascinating mystery/thriller would really love this book. I have passed it around a bunch of my friends and had nothing but great reviews back from everyone. A must-read for spooky fall fiction from an excellent new author that is worth keeping a close eye on in the future.

    http://www.alexalexanderbooks.com

Leave a Reply

