R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril X

rip10500

My favorite challenge of the year is back! Carl is letting the ladies at the Estella Society host this years shindig.

From the Estella Society’s RIP post:

Without further ado, pick your poison, won’t you? September 1st is here, and we’re ready to begin!

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

That is what embodies the stories, written and visual, that we celebrate with the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event.

As time has wound on, we’ve discovered that simple rules are best:

1. Have fun reading (and watching).
2. Share that fun with others.

As Carl does each and every year, there are multiple levels of participation (Perils) that allow you to be a part of R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril without adding the burden of another commitment to your already busy lives. There is even a one book only option for those who feel that this sort of reading is not their cup of tea (or who have too many other commitments) but want to participate all the same.

R.I.P. X officially runs from September 1st through October 31st

Multiple perils await you. You can participate in just one, or participate in them all.

I’m going to be participating in several RIP events and I have a pretty large peril pool this year, but my main goal is to complete 5 spooky books (including a short story collection), watch 5 spooky films, and complete and assist with hosting the readalong. Let’s get down to the details!

https://i0.wp.com/www.estellasociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/ripnineperilfirst.jpg

Peril the first will consist of completing four spooky works of fiction. My peril pool contenders are:

  • The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
  • The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld
  • Surfacing by Margaret Atwood
  • The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox
  • The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield (re-read)
  • We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson (re-read)

https://i2.wp.com/www.estellasociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/ripnineperilshort.jpg

My short story collection for the month with be H P Lovecraft’s The Thing on the Doorstep and Other Weird Tales.

https://i1.wp.com/www.estellasociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/ripnineperilscreen.jpg

I’ll definitely be catching Crimson Peak in theaters this fall. I’m not huge into gore so I will mostly be checking out classic films (think Vincent Price) or finding some great period piece mystery films to watch.

https://i1.wp.com/www.estellasociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/ripnineperilgroup.jpg

I’ve saved the best for last! The group read is always a highlight and I’m thrilled to be co-hosting this year. We’ll be reading Lauren Owen’s The Quick and I’m so excited!

https://i1.wp.com/www.estellasociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/thequickRAL.jpg

Let me know what’s in your RIP pile! I’m wanting to add in a classic novel. Let me know in the comments your favorite “creepy” classic!

6 comments

    1. I’ve read both! I’ve read Wuthering Heights several times and The Monk once. I had a great class in college on the Gothic Novel. The Monk was so creepy and disturbing. I might have to give it a re-read!

  1. wow you have 2 of my favorite books here!! I’ve read The Thirteenth Tale 3 times! It’s perfect for RIP.. and I loved The Meaning of Night.. I believe Cox only wrote 2 books (both very good) and passed away. I hope your read those books! I will watch for your reviews!!!!

  2. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The Enchanted in particular. That book was on my to-investigate pile for a long time, and the day I previewed it, I didn’t click with it right away. I don’t remember a think about it, so I’m not opposed to trying it a second time if a good review comes through!

Leave a Reply

