Readerly Rambles: My August TBR and Choose my next book!

readerly ramblesI was feeling a bit overwhelmed with book choices and all the readalongs thrumming through the blogosphere. I decided it would be helpful if I organized my TBR by categories. Below you’ll see what I’ll be pulling from this month.

Young Adult: I’m already halfway done with Cassandra Clare’s second book in Mortal Instruments series, City of Ashes. I should finish this in the next day or two.

Contemporary: I’ve been striving to read more fiction published in the last five years. I’m finally going to read Sarah Waters’ The Paying Guests (I know I’ve said that a dozen times, but this time I mean it).

Graphic Novel: Walk volumes 1 and 2 by John Lewis (this is the university’s first year read)

Non-Fiction: Ann Patchett’s collection of essays, This is the Story of a Happy Marriage

Series: This year I’m focusing on The Forsyte Chronicles by John Galsworthy. I’ll be reading The Silver Spoon next.

Short Story Collection: I will continue with the Victorian Fairy Tales Collections and adding a re-re-re-read of Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber.

Virago: I am woefully behind in my Virago challenge. I’ll be reading Letty Fox: Her Luck by Christina Stead to inch my way towards catching up.

Wildcard: I have a hankering for some historical fiction, so let’s throw The Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks into the pile.

Last but not least, I really want to read a classic next. I’m stuck and cannot decided what to do. Pick my book for me and I will read it next. Which one should it be?

  1. Emma by Jane Austen (my least favorite Austen, but I read it over 10 years ago! I do have a lovely Penguin edition and I’ve had this book on the nightstand for months)
  2. The Bird’s Nest by Shirley Jackson (I keep meaning to read this and I have no idea why I never actually pick it up. Also on the nightstand).
  3. East of Eden by John Steinbeck (::whispers:: “I’ve never read Steinbeck”)
  4. Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy (devoured The Return of the Native in the winter of 2012 before Persy Jane was born. I haven’t picked out another Hardy novel and he is so spectacular)
  5. Bleak House by Charles Dickens (I could re-read a favorite!)
  6. The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope (remember when I was going to read all the Barsetshire novels last year? Yeah… I need to get back on that).

So what will it be? Help me decide. I”m throwing this on social media too and whichever book gets the most votes by noon on Wednesday will be the one I read next. Thanks ahead of time for the help!

8 comments

  1. I would recommend Jude the Obscure – the story is grim but I think it is a marvellous novel. I have enjoyed reading The Forsyte Saga chronicles this year, I recently reviewed Swan Song.

  2. Year of Wonders is so worth reading. Very memorable and I have recommended it often. I can’t share your enthusiasm for Thomas Hardy, however. I loathe Hardy.

  3. I’d vote for the Trollope if I had time to read along with you because that’s exactly where I left off – with the last two to go. Instead I’ll vote for Steinbeck. I’ve never read any of his novels – only short stories and Travels With Charley (which I highly recommend). Happy reading to you!

Leave a Reply

