Readerly Rambles: 9 July 2015

readerly rambles
I am truly feeling a need to jump start my reading. I’m in a lag. My current read is phenomenal, The Children’s Book by A S Byatt, but it is a chunkster. It hasn’t proven great for the tiny pockets of reading I find each day. Work and kids mean that I have to relish in the 10 and 15 minute blocks of reading time just as much as a three hour long reading bender. This book draws me in and has a slow build. I just end up getting cranky when I have to put it down.
Nothing revitalizes my reading like making huge plans, drawing up mega lists of books and then start reading with wild abandon. Below are a few bookish events I’ll be participating in or, at the very least, I am planning on participating in (who knows where my whims will take me).
First off this weekend is the start of the 24 in 48 readathon. The goal is to read for 24 hours within a 48 hour time period. You all know I’m a cheater-cheater-pumpkin-eater so I’m going to go for reading for 12 hours during the event. It will be a huge uptick in my reading seeing as I think I read for 12 minutes last weekend. At the very least I hope to polish off The Children’s Book this weekend.
readathon1
Next is the Shirley Jackson Reading week running from July 13th – July 18th. I’ll be reading The Bird’s Nest, listening to We Have Always Lived in the Castle, and possibly picking up one of Jackson’s memoirs.
Shirley-Jackson-Reading-Week
A really great event that I’m not participating in is the Socratic Salon’s Alice in Wonderland discussion. The only reason I’m not participating is because I’ve decided I must purchase a beautiful copy and I’m on a book buying ban until September. I will be reading this in the autumn, but not right now. Their button for the event is so beautiful that I think everyone else should participated. Now.
downrabbithole
Since I am itching to re-read a classic, I’ll be jumping on to a long-term Emma reading event. I can manage five chapters a week, right?
emma
Let me know if you’re participating in any of the above events and throw some reading event recommendations my way. Happy Reading!
4 comments

  1. I’m so excited for #24in48! And I hope you enjoy the other reading events. I read Alice in Wonderland and Emma not too long ago so I won’t be joining in, but both sound like a great time!

  2. Plans sound like fun! I think Austen would be much better suited to bite size reading than Byatt. 🙂 Who I haven’t read in ages, despite considering her a favourite author. Hmmm. I might just pick up something by her next!

  3. Shirley Jackson’s memoirs are very different from her fiction. But you might really enjoy Life Among the Savages. It was written by a busy mother who never had enough time to read 🙂

  4. I really want to read the Shirley Jackson memoirs – they’ve been on my wishlist for ages! Just finished reading Still Alice by Lisa Genova and Orchard House by Tara Austen Weaver – very different books, but they hit the spot for me and were easy to fit into the short snippets of time I had to read. I’ve got one more library check out to finish, and then I’m going to indulge in a reread of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (I’ve been slowly rereading my way through these) ahead of a HP movie marathon my kids are planning for the end of the month. Love the idea of 24 in 48, but have other commitments this weekend that are going to keep me from it. 😦
    Happy reading to you!

Leave a Reply

