Favorite Books in 2015

toptentuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is to pick your top 10 reads of the year so far. I’ve read 27 books so fluminariesar and I feel like picking 10 doesn’t whittle the list down enough for me. Instead I’m listing my top five books of 2015 so far.

1. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton: I’m cheating a little by listing this here. Technically I started this book in December,but I finished it a few days into January. This is a top ten of all time favorite book and it rightfully earned the Man Booker prize in 2013. To say it is Dickensian in size and scope is an understatement; it is huge (832 pages), with an expansive cast of characters and the novel works backwards in time.It is also a page-turning thriller.

2. It was me all along by Andie Mitchell: This memoir is not a weight-loss memoir. The author conquered a binge eating disorder and lost weight only to realize she was still unhappy. Mitchell ended up swinging towards an different eating disorder that involved food anxiety and obsessive exercise. This memoir is about how she made peace with food.

3. We are all Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler: Another Man Booker contender, this book was on the shortlist in 2014. I don’t want to reveal too much about the plot, but I will say this is one of the most “real” feeling portrayals of young woman in college balancing academics and family secrets. This one got me in the feels.

4. Head Case: My Brain and Other Wonders by Cole Cohen: This memoir is a fascinating account of a woman living with a lemon-sized hole in her brain. A quick read, it made me think about those with “hidden illnesses” like anxiety, lupus, or PTSD and how difficult it is to seek help when folks tend to judge others on what is outwardly visible.

5. Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl: I couldn’t decide if I should list this one. I devoured this book and it was certainly a page-turner, but I guessed some of the relationships and predicted some of the resolutions. The stuff I didn’t predict, didn’t get resolved in the novel. It just had a big ole question mark on it. Sorry for the vagueness, but it is a mystery! I will check out other books by Pessl and I do recommend this book, just go for the ride and don’t try to figure everything out.

There are no classics on my reading list. I had some five star classic reads, but those were Galsworthy novels and re-reads. I’m reading through my Virago Project list, but honestly those books haven’t blown my skirts up yet. Hummmm… I don’t know what to make of that.

I wonder what the next half of 2015 will hold?

9 comments

  1. While some people hated Pessl’s Night Film, I really enjoyed it. Just go for the ride applies to that one too, and it was an entertaining ride! Great literature, no, but entertaining and you might enjoy that one too.

  2. I couldn’t help but notice that 2 of your 5 are memoirs. I’ve found myself reading a lot of memoirs lately and they are pushing their way into my list of favorites. I recently finished Imperfect Harmony by Stacy Horn after Thomas mentioned it and someone else had posted a blurb about it. I love to sing, and don’t really have a venue to do it at the moment – this was almost as much fun as a book about books to me. I also enjoyed a new-to-me author in the first half of the year, Katherine Reay. I read her Lizzie and Jane and loved it. I keep eyeing The Luminaries, but I’m not ready to commit to that long of a book right now. Maybe post-summer busyness when things slow down. Happy reading to you!

Leave a Reply

