Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to See as Movies

books to movies

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is about books to movies. Let’s get straight to it, but with one caveat… the movies MUST be well-done. No half-assing or plot/character changes.

The Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman: This is my favorite historical novel and began my Wars of the Roses obsession. This would have to be a long movie or mini-series and Richard Armitage MUST play Richard the Third.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: I would really love for this to be a Hayao Miyazaki animated film.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt: This would be so good. I have no idea who I would want in the cast, but I’m thinking it would make a great gritty Darren Aronofsky film.

Excellent Women by Barbara Pym: Not only would it be a wonderful BBC masterpiece film, but Thomas at Hogglestock once suggested that Miranda Hart (Chummy from Call the Midwife) would make an excellent Mildred Lathbury.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath: There was a horrible verison that didn’t resemble the book at ALL made in the 70s (good luck finding it). I was sort of excited about Julia Stiles directing and starring in the The Bell Jar. She really threw herself into studying Plath. No idea what happened to that project. I’d still like to see a film of this novel, but please don’t conflate Plath’s biography with the book.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: I’d love an animated version of this movie. I’m thinking a sort of The Triplets of Belleville type animation style.

Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl. Ellen Page must be in this movie. Seriously.

White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi: Of course this must be a highly stylized black and white film. Or an animated film with cut paper, much like this booktrailer.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson: Creepy and atmospheric with lush cinematography and plenty of focus on the actual house.

The MaddAddam Trilogy by Margaret Atwood: I hear this is in development as a mini-series and I am cautiously optimistic.

toptentuesday

7 comments

  1. I agree with you about The Bell Jar! It almost made my list 🙂 I still haven’t read the MaddAddam Trilogy which is weird because I LOVED The Handmaid’s Tale. If it is being made into a TV Series then I may watch them first.

  2. Girrrrrrl, my heart goes a little crazy when you put names like Gaiman and Miyazaki in the same sentence. ::swoon::

    And Richard Armitage in ANYTHING is perfect.

  3. Some great ones on here! The Night Circus is on mine too, though I’d rather it be live-action. I love the idea of a creepy surrealist version of the Shirley Jackson book. And Miyazaki for the Neil Gaiman book! Excellent idea.

Leave a Reply

