#BoutofBooks: Master Post

Bout of Books

I feel like I may very well be the last to the party. My last book was a drag and I wasn’t anticipating I would have the readerly gumption to make it through a week long readathon. Then I started an exceptional memoir and I’m hooked. Consider me all in for bout of books!

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 11th and runs through Sunday, May 17th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 13 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team”

My goal for the readathon is to read three books. I’m on a roll, so let’s see if I can keep it up!

Day 2 — I didn’t participate in the day’s challenge, but I did make my reading goal for the day! I finished a memoir, Head Case and that was about 140 pages of reading. My goal for 05/13 is to read a good chunk of Station Eleven.

DAY 1 — Bookish Survey from Writing my Own Fairy Tale

1. How do you organize your shelves? First I separate items I collect. Virago and NYRB press books and then my penguin books that I collect (threads and horror). Then my non-fiction books are organized loosely by Library of Congress system. Fiction is alphabetical by author.
2. What is one of your favorite book that’s not in one of your favorite genres? The Poisoner’s Handbook by Deborah Blum, I don’t read a great deal of science-based books, but this was a great one!
3. What is the last 5 star book you read? Fairest, vol. 1: Wide Awake by Bill Willingham
4. What book are you most excited to read during the read-a-thon? I am finishing up a memoir and then I plan to dig into Station Eleven.
5. What book do you recommend the most? Just, in general? The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.

5 comments

  1. I’m not officially doing the Bout of Books, but secretly I’m reading like a fiend – it’s how I’m processing stress at the moment. I’m about halfway through All the Light We Cannot See, and am really enjoying it. I’ve got E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars checked out from the library up next, and I’m still in the hold line for Station Eleven. I’ll be curious to see what you make of it. Happy Reading!

  2. I keep hearing great things about Station Eleven and though it’s not normally my ‘thing’ I succumbed and bought it last week- will be interested to read what you make of it. And what a fascinating choice The Bell Jar – it’s many years since I read it but I remember being bowled over by it at the time!

Leave a Reply

