#Readathon: Closing Meme

deweyleaf-1024x682

Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 16. I finally had to go to sleep for a few hours. I woke five hours later and finished strong.
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Peter and Max by Bill Willingham was great! Easy to read but with fantastic characters and a thrilling plot.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I think Read-a-thon is managed extremely well, but I feel like if Read-a-thon keeps growing there will be some real problems (like the lovely Andi and Heather feeling like they are in The Yellow Wallpaper). I don’t really have a suggestion for accomodating that growth, except I worry that spreading Read-a-thon over so many social media channels could stretch volunteers and lines of communication too thin.
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Praise be to the hashtag! I was mostly on Twitter and Instagram and it was so easy to find everyone.
How many books did you read? Three completed and one short story collection in progress. I didn’t read as much this year. I had to take frequent breaks because my glasses haven’t arrived yet. Blurry vision and headaches are no good.
What were the names of the books you read? Peter and Max by Bill Willingham, The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman, and Fairest,v. 1: Wide Awake by BIll Willingham
Which book did you enjoy most? Fairest! I love some girl power in my graphic novel!
Which did you enjoy least? Honestly I enjoyed all of them! #winning
If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Cheering on instagram was GREAT! So many young people participated! It was just the huge number of people made cheering feel a bit more like a chore. Not that I didn’t enjoy cheering, but I had to comment and go the next person. I didn’t have as much time to hang out and get to know new folks. That’s totally okay! One thing I DO NOT LIKE are the people who complain and are demanding. They whine about people not cheering them, or the number of cheers, and they are generally buzzkills. I honestly feel that folks honestly concerned with “where is my cheer” are there to gain clicks and visits. I love the idea of a more organic form of cheering. Like, pick a platform, look up the hashtag, and everyone cheer for each other. Pretty sure the cheer-haters didn’t volunteer in any capacity, so screw ’em. The more you put in to read-a-thon the more you get out of it.

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Duh. Read-a-thon or Die! I will always do read-a-thon work schedules and children allowing. Sign me up to participate in everything: mini-challenge, co-host, and cheering!

4 comments

  1. I’m glad that I didn’t hear any of those complaints!! There’s never enough cheerleaders, but people should know that by now. You’re right, the more organic form of cheerleading is pretty fun! Fingers crossed that your glasses come this week.

    1. As a new readathon participant I had NO IDEA there aren’t enough cheerleaders. You can read more of my thoughts below, but as the readathon has grown by leaps and bounds, you need to remember that new people don’t know much about it at all. All they know is that they sign up for a cheerleader and never see one visit them. But please, read my (really long) comment below 🙂

  2. I read Fairest vol 1 as well and also loved it 🙂 I really need to get around to Peter and Max someday soon! Thank you for the cheers and support on Instagram, I really appreciated it but didn’t get a chance to reply as there was so much going on!

    I think next time I’m going to sign up for cheerleading and help lighten the load a bit.

  3. I just wanted to comment on your cheering thing: First of all, I totally agree with you that “praise be to the hashtag.” I randomly decided (on about Monday night) to just start commenting on people’s #readathon posts on Instagram. It helped build the excitement for me, and most importantly, although I didn’t expect this, it helped me form my own organic cheering support. I continued to comment on the #readathon hashtag throughout the week.

    By the time the readathon started, I had new followers (not important to me, but bear with me a minute) and other people checking out my Instagram. This was only important because the readathon can be a very isolating event. I sent my family away for as much as possible so I could have uninterrupted reading time. I was mostly by myself at home. So every time I posted something on Instagram it gave me a lift and a shot of adrenaline to keep going when people would comment on it or like it. It reminded me that I wasn’t alone, especially at 4 in the morning 🙂 This is how getting new followers, who were also readathoning, was really great. We could support each other.

    It was a totally organic form of building support.

    This was my first ever readathon. I didn’t know what to expect. I was planning on devoting more time to reading and less time to everything else. I signed up with my blog as my main social media platform and I did say that I would like a cheerleader.

    I did post updates to my blog but I only got two comments there — one from a regular reader and one from someone else. I didn’t have an official cheerleader cheering for me the entire readathon. However, because I had unintentionally built up organic support that didn’t matter to me AT ALL. BUT… if I’d gone with my original plan and avoided Instagram completely, if I had never started commenting on people’s readathon photos the week before it started, it would have been a very lonely readathon for me.

    Next time I will do a number of things differently. I won’t use my blog as a readathon platform at all. I will sign up to be an official volunteer cheerleader on Instagram. I will know that encouraging others on social media is as much fun, and just as rewarding, as the actual reading. But this is all stuff I didn’t know when I first signed up for the readathon.

    I think what would be helpful is if there was warm-up post on how to build your own organic cheering squad through the book community already available, whether you do that through your blog, through Instagram/Twitter/whatever other social media you want. I did not know anyone in the the book community before this and now, thanks to the readathon, I do. People need to know that it’s pretty easy to get connected with others but the impetus is on the them to reach out to the really friendly book community, rather than waiting for the community to reach out to them.

    Does this all make sense???

    I realize this is really long but I just wanted to give you a different perspective on those people who might be complaining about the lack of cheering. They might not just be wanting more followers; they might honestly have felt very lonely reading on their own with no support and they may have no idea how to build up that support.

Leave a Reply

