Readerly Rambles: 23 March 2015

readerly rambles

What I Read: I finished Susan Higginbotham’s historical fiction novel Her Highness the Traitor at lunch. The novel is herhighnarrated by Frances Grey – mother of Jane Grey the nine-day queen – and Jane Dudley — wife of the Duke of Northumberland. The novel traces the Duke of Northumberland’s rise to power and his installation of his daughter-in-law, Jane, as queen of England, many executions, and Mary Tudor’s claiming of the throne of England. There have been many fiction and non-fiction accounts of the Tudor’s history, but I liked that this book was narrated by the two mothers. The women had very little power and instead had to rely on letter writing, flirtation, flattery, giving gifts and being a good hostess to enact any change or to advocate for their loved ones. I will say that the first half of the book felt a little muddled; the chapters switch back and forth from Frances Grey and Jane Dudley. Their “voices” are so similar and found that I often had to look back and refresh my memory on which narration I was reading. After a hundred or so pages I was familiar enough with the household and characters to determine the speakers. By the end of the novel, both women are fully realized and beautifully constructed characters and their sorrow and loss are felt. Although not my favorite Higginbotham novel, this is a good one and I recommend it to Tudor history lovers.

~~~ Stats ~~~

Started: 16 March 2015

Finished: 23 March 2015

Pages: 319

Challenges:

Owned/Borrowed/Library: Borrowed from interlibrary loan

Stars: 3.5 out of 5 stars

~~~~~~~~~~~~

What I’m reading: I’ve already dipped into a new memoir called It was Me All Along by Andie Mitchell. I think I will either really like it or really hate it. It is a memoir about a woman coming to peace with her body and food after weight loss. I placed a request for it through interlibrary loan because I thought it was about a woman who lost weight and was still unhappy and realized it was her unhealthy relationship with food that was the problem. The back cover blurb is from the host of The Biggest Loser and I *hate* that show with every ounce of my tubby self. They perpetuate eating disorders, but that is a post for another day. I’ll let you know what I think next week.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s up Next: More Galsworthy and a Virago novel. The next Forsyte book is To Let and my Virago read for this month will be Mr. Fortune’s Maggot by Sylvia Townsend Warner. Let’s see if I can get both knocked out before the end of the month.

One comment

  1. Glad that you settled into your book. Switching narrators back and forth can be very irritating when it isn’t done well. I’ve just started Nicholas Nickelby here and so far, so good. Happy reading to you.

Leave a Reply

