Readerly Rambles: 5 March 2015

readerly rambles

What I Read: I gulped down Antonia White’s Frost in May several years ago, but honestly I remembered littlefrost in may of the plot. All I could recall of this first Virago Modern Classic was that it was a Catholic boarding school novel. I’m really glad I took the time to slow down and reread this book. Nanda Gray is about eight years old when her father converts from Protestantism to Catholicism. Nanda is intimidated and eager to please the nuns and make a place for herself at the convent’s school. Like any young girl (or, for that matter) Nanda must contend with lapses of faith, a love for fiction and writing that challenges school rules, and having her spirit continually and intentionally broken. The book does not have a happy ending in a traditional sense, but I think Nanda emerges from her ordeals at school more assured of who she is as a woman and a writer.

~~~ Stats ~~~

Started: 15 February 2015

Finished: 24 February 2015

Pages: 208 (yes, it took me that long to read a novella… life happened)

Challenges: TBR Reading Challenge, Back to the Classics Challenge — Novella, Virago Project

Owned/Borrowed/Library: Owned

Stars: Four out of Five

~~~~~~~~~~~~

What I’m Reading: I’m nearly done with the second installation of The Forsyte Sage, In Chancery. It is so damn good. All you Downton Abbey fans, ditch the show and pick up this series. All the drama, yet all British stiff upper-lippedness you desire!

flashreadathon

What’s Up Next: This weekend looks to be busy. I’m going out of town with Sam for a night, there’s the wretched time-change and I work a crazy long shift on Sunday. YET, despite my schedule being quite full I am determined to participate in the Flash Readathon! My goal is to finish the Galsworthy, read a graphic novel or comic, and finish my audiobook of Cranford.

Happy Reading!

7 comments

  1. I really enjoyed Frost in May, Nanda’s struggle broke my heart!
    I will now be searching for The Forsyte Sage, huge Abbey fan here!

  2. Yay I’m so glad you’ll be participating! It’s no pressure, no rules really, so whatever reading you get to do is golden! 🙂

  3. Adding the Forsyte Saga to my list. I haven’t read Frost in May, but I did read the 2nd in the quartet, The Lost Traveller (thanks to a giveaway that Thomas did several years back). I remember enjoying it, but didn’t know at the time that it was 2nd in a quartet – fortunately for my OCD tendencies. White changes the main character’s name from Nanda to Clara for The Lost Traveller and I think the whole series is supposed to be semi autobiographical…am now wondering why I didn’t seek out the others…ah well, more to add to the list. 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  4. Yay Flash Reading!!! So glad you’re going to try to participate!

    Frost in May sounds really good! I’ll have to track down a copy. Better find my copy of The Forsyth Saga for that matter.

    I’m loving Middlemarch. I did my research and found a great reader. Juliet Stevenson is one of my favorite narrators and she’s nailing this book. I listened for two hours straight yesterday!

Leave a Reply

