Goodbye, February and Hello, March!

february2

February is such a busy blip of a month. I felt like it flew by too quickly. This was very much a month all about family. We spent so much time together, which is a good thing (for the most part).

Here’s a quick run down of what February looked like for me:

  • Persy turned two and Hope celebrated her 15th birthday. Big milestones for my girls!
  • Persy, Atticus, and I survived a major stomach bug at the beginning of the month.
  • I finished Atticus’s rainbow blanket, crocheted a baby blanket, embroidered two baby bibs, and started a knitted scarf for Sam.
  • All that making stuff meant a HUGE dip in my reading. I only read three books in February: Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl, Frost in May by Antonia White, and Hark! A Vagrant! by Kate Beaton
  • Another factor in my reading dip was inclement weather. Tons of ice and really unimpressive snow. We had six days total of weather that left the kids out of school and cooped up in the apartment. I can stitch and knit while the kids are mucking about, but reading just didn’t happen.
  • I started co-leading an addiction recovery group at church. New territory. Super fun. Kinda intimidating.
  • I hosted my first AND LAST swap. I had planned on hosting a swap every other month, but after chasing down people to send gifts and relaying “yes they sent it” and “no they didn’t get it” messages for four weeks I can honestly say that I’m not doing it again.

I suppose instead of meh swap experience and a wee bit too much family time and that one pukey weekend February rocked. No really, it did. This was my least depressing February in a long time (why does February always seem sucky?)

On to March!

  • I am reclaiming my reading this month. Cedar Station’s March Madness is going to help get me there. I’m behind on posting my TBR picture, but I haven’t picked all my books up from the library yet. My goal is to read seven books this month. My TBR thus far: In Chancery by John Galsworthy, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexie, Black Beauty by Anna Sewell, Her Highness, The Traitor by Susan Higginbotham, Mr. Fortune’s Maggot by Sylvia Townsend Warner, Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell, and French Milk by Lucy Knisley.
  • To help reclaim my reading I am bringing back my early morning reading ritual. I was up at 5:30 this morning reading and my goal is to start waking up at 5am to get in a solid reading hour.
  • I don’t have many events scheduled for this month. Sam is busy with school and it is the height of track season for Hope and planning things just isn’t working. The one exception is this weekend. Sam and I are going on a mini-trip to see Gogol Bordello. Hurrah for gypsy punk music!
  • As far as thread goes, I’d like to finish Sam’s scarf and start another embroidery project.

Alright March, let’s get this party started.

8 comments

  1. I agree with your assessment of February completely – it flew by! I usually struggle a bit more with winter blues than I did this year as well. I think Feb tends to be more depressing because the “newness” of the new year has worn off, and here, at least, it’s usually when we have our worst winter weather IF we are going to have any (which we really haven’t this year, but we’ve stayed colder longer). I stand in awe of your getting up so early to read – I really want to back up my rising time in the mornings, but have been foiled at every turn. Hopefully, with the time change coming, that will help. I can’t believe we are already about to turn the clocks back this weekend – it’s TOO SOON! Good for y’all for taking a mini-trip this weekend – have a great time, and happy reading in March.

  2. You were a busy bee 😀 I’m glad to see the back of February. It’s not my favorite month and it seems to get weirder every year.

    I’m really sorry that the swap didn’t work out the way you had hoped. It was a wonderful intention and it’s too bad that the bad apples stink it up so much :/ Boo!

    I have high hopes for March! For all of us 😀

  3. I think anyone who’s had to coordinate anything where you depend on people to do what they said they would do – when they’re supposed to! – can completely understand your feelings about the swap. I know I do! Thanks for hosting it, though. You did a great job and I was excited to make a new blogger friend!

Leave a Reply

