Readerly Rambles: 16 February 2015

readerly rambles

special-topics-in-calamity-physics

What I Read: The other day I had a hankering for a very particular type of book. I wanted a non-classic, academic/nerd thriller. On a whim I went to the public library and returned home with three contenders. I ended up starting Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl and I couldn’t put it down. Blue Van Meer is a precocious high school student with a enigmatic father who is a professor and rejects putting down roots. A combination of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History and The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark, this novel is smart, fast-paced, and will keep you guessing. Filled with teen angst, encyclopedic trivia, and criminality, this book was exactly what I needed.

~~~ Stats ~~~

Started: 04 February 2015

Finished: 13 February 2015

Pages: 514

Challenges: โ€”

Owned/Borrowed/Library: From the public library

Stars: Four out of Five

~~~~~~~~~~~~

What I’m Reading: I’m about 50 pages into my reread of Antonia White’s Frost in May. I’m really enjoying it, as I’m a huge fan of boarding school novels. Funny story; Atticus was pretending to read this book last week and I asked him what it was about. He very nonchalantly informed me that it was about a mommy and an Atticus being chased by a dragon and they had to climb into a volcano to find but then were burned black and went to live with trolls. Ummmmm… not exactly, but that would make an exciting story. I hope to wrap up this slim book in a few days.

What’s Up Next: I might dip into a graphic novel (French Milk, perhaps?) or maybe start volume two of the Forsyte Saga, In Chancery.

Happy Reading!
4 comments

Leave a Reply

