Works in Progress: 7 January 2015

works in progress

Completed Projects:

I accomplished so much over the Christmas holiday although it was at the expense of Fig and Thistle. I thought I’d share what I accomplished.

Persy’s blanket is finally finished. She opened up first things Christmas morning and very politely dropped it beside her into a pile. ERGH. Her blanket (that she doesn’t give two craps for) is now at school and she cuddles up with it at nap. I know it is only a blankie, but it took me forever to stitch partly because she wanted it every time I got it out.

wpid-wp-1420658183848.jpegwpid-wp-1420658040290.jpegI also crocheted five cowls for teachers. After working on the same knitting project for two years it was nice to crochet up some quick projects.

rainbowblankieCurrently I’m hard at work on Atticus’s rainbow granny square blanket. My goal is to have it done by the 15th of this month.

In addition to my yarn endeavors, I spent the holidays baking and sending out a massive amount of Christmas cards. I love Christmas cards, but I really need to get a better planning system in place for sending them off in time.

What’s Up Next:

I’ve thought of a good way to plan my projects out for the year. Instead of making a giant list (which I soon forget about) or a monthly list (which leaves me no time), I’ve decided to come up with project ideas in four month blocks: January – April, May – August, and then September – December. September – December will be all holiday gifts; I’ve learned that I need to allow at least that much time to get everything completed for the holidays.

Project Goals for January – April:

Yarn:

Complete Atticus’s rainbow blanket

Scarf for Sam

A granny stripe hat for Peapie

A grey cowl for Hope

Gobs of dishcloths

Embroidery and Sewing:

Baby bibs for at least two spring babies

Name wall-hangings for the kids’ rooms

PJ pants

Other projects:

Focus on sending birthday cards to dear friends and happy snail mail

Make non-shitty valentine cards for my kids’ classes

FINALLY hang up some photos of my adorable kids.

FINALLY make family and wedding photobooks.

Plan Persy’s second birthday party

Brew water kefir

Host book blogger swap (details coming up soon)

This is only a list of ideas. I know that things may change as the months go by, but at least it is a happy and inspiring start to the year.

2 comments

  1. I really like your seasonal plan for projects. I’m working on trying to build up a stash of cards for correspondence with my oldest this semester. I’d like to build up a bigger stash so that I have handmade cards at the ready to send to other people as well. When I saw Valentines on your list, my first thought was, “I need to live next door to Amanda so she can come over and stamp with me.” It’s only about 1000 miles from Texas to Georgia! Ah well, I’ll be creating with you in spirit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

