2014 End of the Year Book Survey

2014-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

Thanks to the Perpetual Page-Turner for creating and sharing this survey!

reading-stats-2014

Number Of Books You Read: 39
Number of Re-Reads: 3
Genre You Read The Most From: Literary Fiction

 best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton (review forthcoming)

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? 

The War of the Worlds by H G Wells (I didn’t think it would be so beautifully written and bad ass at the same time)

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi (but I’m the only one who liked it)

 5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

Best series started — The Game of Thrones by George R R Martin.

Sequel and series ender would be Year of the Flood and Maddaddam by Margaret Atwood

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Anthony Trollope!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

War of the Worlds by H G Wells (I swear I’m not typically into scifi)

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

 9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

none. I usually reread every five year. I make myself wait.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane OR White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Miranda Silver from White is for Witching

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

The Luminaries  by Eleanor Catton

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read? 

Quartet in Autumn by Barbara Pym

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

“It is harder for women, perhaps to be ‘one-pointed,’ much harder for them to clear space around whatever it is they want to do beyond household chores and family life. Their lives are fragmented… the cry not so much for a ‘a room of one’s own’ as time of one’s own. Conflict become acute, whatever it may be about, when there is no margin left on any day in which to try at least to resolve it.”
― May Sarton, Journal of a Solitude

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest would be The Night Bookmobile  and longest goes to The Luminaries.

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

White is for Witching

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

The Luminaries

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

The four co-worker/sort-of friends from Quartet in Autumn

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Maddaddam 

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

The Night Guest 

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Doctor Thorne from the Chronicles of Barsetshire series

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

Didn’t read one

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

The Luminaries is tied with The Game of Thrones

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

Quartet in Autumn by Barbara Pym

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

The War of the Worlds

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Night Guest

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

White is for Witching

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Daily Rituals:How Artists Work  by Mason Currey (It was a sausage fest)


WINNERS OF 2014 — These are the best books I read in 2014 and I’m not including rereads.

  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
  • Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope
  • White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi
  • Quartet in Autumn by Barbara Pym
  • Maddadam by Margaret Atwood

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

I’m really looking forward to reading more Viragos, although I don’t think that is what this question had in mind

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

OMG Hilary Mantel, please tell me the third book in the Wolf Hall series will be out! Please?!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

see above!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

Read 52 books

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Ummmm… Hilary Mantel…. yes, pleaseandthankyou

13 comments

  1. i actually liked “white is for witching”! it was haunting though, and entirely unsettling, and perfect for october. thank you for pushing it on me. not so much on “the night guest,” but i already know i’ll love “the paying guests”.

  2. I loved the very first Oyeyemi I read (The Icarus Girl), but it’s been pretty hit and miss since then. Except for the covers…she ends up with AWESOME covers.

  3. Love your reaction to War of the Worlds! Sounds very much like how I felt when I first read it a few years back. It wasn’t that I thought I’d dislike it (if that was the case, I wouldn’t have read it), but I just didn’t expect to love it nearly so much!

  4. I’ve been a little intimidated by the size of The Luminaries and the mixed reviews I’ve read. You are making me rethink it – or at least add it to the list of possibilities. The Night Guest made my list in the “made me mad” category. 🙂

    1. The Luminaries was superb and I thought it quickly paced (although according to GR many people did not). I thought the Night Guest intriguing and it gave me a great deal to think about, but I also was highly disturbed.

  5. I always find your enthusiasm contagious. You may recall Simon Savidge had a love/hate thing with the Luminaries. He started off thinking it brilliant and then he lost his way and tossed it aside. Your comments, and few others I have seen recently have me thinking I should give it a go. I love that you loved Quartet in Autumn so much. A lot of Pym fans think it too dark. And it is, but also so, so wonderful.

    1. I did think it was dark, but in an Anita Brookner / Elizabeth Taylor sort of way. We have a Geriatric studies certificate at my university and lots of the psychology, nursing, and occupational therapy students study gerontology. This book goes on my “gerontology students need to read this” list.

Leave a Reply

