List Love: 2015 Book Goals

list love

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is to list our 2015 book goals. I’ve actually been musing my goals for 2015 since November! I’ve divided my goals into sections.

Read, Baby, Read

I get really annoyed by folks who tell me that they wish they had “time” to read. I have a full-time job, three kids, volunteer responsibilities, and a host of other hobbies and yet I still find “time” to read. I’d like more time to read and I find that I’m beginning to struggle with reading classics. I love the classics, but I need at least twenty minutes or more to get immersed in a classic novel. It is easy for me to pick up graphic novels, short stories, and modern fiction and dip in for ten minutes or less, but I don’t like to feel rushed when reading Trollope, Dickens, or Austen. I want to focus on consciously making time to read in 2015. A continual reading goal is to make sure I savor and enjoy my reading and strive to read as much as possible, because a reading Amanda is a happy Amanda.

  • Change my schedule. I find that I’m so exhausted at night that I can only read for 15 minutes before falling asleep. My coworkers cannot seem to leave me alone on my lunch break. The afternoons and early evenings are filled with cooking, kids, and chores. I’ve decided to move my schedule back and wake up at 4 a.m. to read on the weekdays and 5 a.m. on the weekend. I’ve been trying this out for the past few days. I wake, brew a pot of coffee, and read in complete quiet for two hours. To maintain this schedule I will be moving my bed time back to 9:30/10pm. This means no caffeine after 5pm, showering before the kids go to bed, and turning my smart phone off by 9pm to let my brain get in sleep mode. This will also cut down on my habit of snacking at night.
  • Read 52 books. I only hit 40 this year, but I like to be foolishly optimistic.
  • Journal my thoughts. I always say I’m going to blog about each book I read, but that is silly. Talk about zapping the desire out of reading. I worry I won’t write my review well-enough and then I get writer’s block. I do like to write down my impressions and thoughts on what I read in a less formal way. I’ve established that once a week — or more — I’ll journal about what I’m reading and I’ll try to copy down some well-loved passages as well.
  • Reading log. Each year I spend some time reading through all of my old blog posts and my journals. I really love to see what I was reading during each “chapter” of my life. I’m squirreling away some pocket-money for a journal like this and I plan on writing down what I read each day. Just a quick note containing titles, authors, and page ranges. It will be really neat to see reading trends.
  • Complete my TBR reading challenge
  • Complete my Back to the Classics Challenge

Engaging in the Reading Community

Sometimes I forget, or lose sight, of the awesomeness of sharing my love of reading with readers and nonreaders alike. It is very easy for me to bury my nose in a books and become an antisocial hermit. I’m planning on remembering that engaging with other readers is richly rewarding and fuels my passion for books. Likewise, introducing the joy of books to other people gives me purpose and direction.

  • Participate in Readathons. Specifically Dewey’s 24-hour readathon in April and October. I really enjoyed helping in a larger capacity back in October and I look forward to what April will bring.
  • Host a bookish event. I already have some ideas on this and it will be happening in February. Keep your eyes peeled for an announcement in the next few weeks.
  • Participate in three read-alongs. This could be blog read-alongs, a group read in GoodReads, or something, gasp, in real life.
  • Give books as gifts. Because books are awesome.

There we are! My top ten bookish goals. Let me know your goals for 2015 and let’s support our book buds!

11 comments

  1. Man, I admire the whole two hours in the morning thing. My bedtime is already 9:30/10 and I struggle if I wake up before six! Of course, I’ve been suffering from insomnia near-constantly since fall of 2011, so that might have something to do with it, heh.

    I admit, I still like writing about every book I read. Even when I wasn’t blogging, I had a private book journal online where I wrote about every book. However, I don’t mind anymore if I only write a paragraph, or a list of things I liked or thoughts I had, or just a quote I loved, or if the review is for my eyes only and I keep it private (love the private post feature on WP!). It’s a very no-stress way of “reviewing” without worrying about saying the right things!

  2. “a reading Amanda is a happy Amanda.” This really resonated with me! I’ve been a bear ever since the week before Christmas, and I think it’s partly because I’ve had no time to just be quiet and read. I love spending time with family, but the introvert in me needs time to refuel. 🙂
    Love your goals – I use to get up between 4 and 5 to get in my reading time when my kids were younger. You can do it as long as you get yourself to bed early. It was my favorite time of day. I also appreciate your words about engaging in the reader community and I’m looking forward to your announcement about February. Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. I get up at 4:30 every morning. During the week, that allows me to get ready in peace, and on the weekends, I have time to read for 2 hours, if I am lucky. It works really well for me, and gives me a nice balance to my otherwise hectic life.

  4. I love the idea of quiet time in the morning to read! I don’t know if I could do it, but I’m thinking about doing something similar right after I put my sons to bed (about 8) – just sit and read for an hour. I don’t know how it will work out yet, but it’s something!

  5. I love getting up early! Well, maybe love is the wrong word. I guess what I really love is that quiet time. Anyway, waking early to read is a noble task. You have wonderful goals for 2015. Have a Happy New Year!

  6. My goals are similar to yours. Good luck writing down thoughts on every book. I try to do that to but fail miserably. A couple years ago I stopped worrying about writing “reviews.” I write what I want, whatever will make me remember what I like about the book. When I read back through my blog or look at my Read List and I don’t have a blurb about a book, urgh, I hate it cause I can’t remember book.

  7. Just found your blog through Trish. Stopping by to wish you a Happy New Year (loved your thoughtful 2015 goals). When I was little I would wake up and find my mom up early —reading—in a quiet house. Great way to start the day, even if it means going to bed earlier.

Leave a Reply

