Top Ten Tuesday: My Halloween Dream TBR

list love

I love a good creepy Halloween read. Some of my favorite books are about things that go bump in the night. I’m not a fan of gore, but I do love a great psychological thriller with supernatural elements and ripping Victorian sensation novels. I’m changing up this week’s Top Ten Tuesday to reflect those atmospheric creepy books I have yet to read. Let me know if you can recommend any of the titles below and I will bump them up on my TBR list.

This House is Haunted by John Boyne

The Ghost Hunters by Neil Spring

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox

The Unburied by Charles Palliser

Hit me up with recommendations and any thoughts on this list. What should I read first? I’m leaning towards The Quick in November and The Paying Guests in December.
8 comments

  1. I wasn’t a big fan of The Quick. For the genre it is, I thought it moved pretty slowly and didn’t really feel very suspenseful. However, The Paying Guests was very good!

  2. I haven’t read any of these but Waters is always a great choice! I’m still slogging through Drood–it’s a bit dark but so damn long. Had hoped to make it through a few more Halloween reads this season!

  3. I have This House is Haunted, which I thought I’d have read before tonight…it looked good when I picked it up. I enjoyed the first bits of The Quick, but then got discouraged with the vampires…nothing can really compare to the real Dracula, or even The Historian, in my mind. Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

