#Readathon Complete!

wpid-cam01830.jpg

Panel from Fables, volume 19

End of Event Meme:

Which hour was most daunting for you?  9pm until 10pm was the worst. Persy was throwing a tantrum, my husband was grumpy and stressed, and reading was hampered by kid’s not wanting to go to bed as they should. 

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I really enjoyed The War of the Worlds by H G Wells. It was such an exciting tale!

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I think a firmer hand with people who bitch and moan. Readathon is free, volunteers spend hours of time creating challenges, blogging, gathering prizes, and cheerleading. If you get your panties in a wad because you thought readathon would be “lucrative” for your blog’s comments, stats, and exposure then I say GTFO. I volunteer to be the bouncer next year. Okay, I’m mostly kidding. I just don’t think I ever realized how folks can take a fun, community-building event and whine. I do have many ideas about next year, but I want to mull it over and email our brave and fearless leaders later. 

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?  SOCIAL MEDIA. Seriously: Twitter, Goodreads, Instagram, and Facebook is where it is at. 

How many books did you read? Three books and three graphic novels. So six total. 
What were the names of the books you read? The War of the Worlds by H G Wells, Amphigorey by Edward Gorey, Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot, Fables: Snow White by Bill Willingham, Dark Shadows: Volume One by Stuart Manning, and The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger 

Which book did you enjoy most? The War of the Worlds!

Which did you enjoy least? The Night Bookmobile 

If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Lots of ideas, but first the mulling.

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Tons of ideas! Once again I am going to keep them quiet for now. Next year I will be reading, cohosting, hosting a mini-challenge, and cheerleading. 

Some final stats:

Pages Read: 840

Best Snack: Home-made crock-pot spinach artichoke dip!

Monday Raised for the Ferst Foundation: $30.95 (short of my $36 goal)

Mini-challenges/Memes completed?  Four!

I think this readathon was my most successful! 

 

6 comments

  1. Yikes! I didn’t hear any complaints, but I’m a first-timer. I thought everything was wonderful. Thank you for all the work you did too! I appreciate it. I had so much fun–even though I was sick as a dog. See? I could have been sick and miserable, but instead I was sick and had a great time. 🙂

  2. I didn’t realize that people were complaining either. I agree–this is purely voluntary! Every bit of it, from the organization to the cheerleading to the actual reading, is voluntary! It blows my mind that people would complain about the wonderful job and hard work put into the event. Kudos to everyone who put up with it.

  3. I didn’t see any of the complaining because I was in my own little readathon bubble of happiness, but just hearing about it now kinda annoys me. This event is a huge undertaking and I think that those who ran it, VOLUNTARILY, did an outstanding job. This was my first time to participate and I have every intentions of doing it again 😀

Leave a Reply

