Readerly Rambles: September TBR Pile and a Readalong

HillHouseReadalong

Heather has succeeded in making the creepiest button for a readalong. Hold me, I’m frightened.

I’m going to pretend that August never happened. By the time this is posted it will be the dawn of a new month, September. I can ignore the fact that I disposed of 400 books and didn’t complete a single book in August. In fact, I went most of the month WITHOUT READING. I’ve thought a great deal about reading and I miss it so much. So here it is Friday, 08/29 and I’m writing about books instead of finishing up all the packing and errands for the move tomorrow. I feel like I should point out that I’m only moving a 15 minute drive away, but the downsizing from a house to an apartment is exhausting.

But I digress…. books…. let’s talk about books.

September marks the start of my favorite challenge, Carl’s R.eader’s I.mbibing P.eril challenge (RIP) right now the challenge isn’t posted, but I know it is on the way. I’ll be choosing mostly “Gothic literature, horror, and all things that go bump in the night” in keeping with Carl’s challenge. I’ll also be participating in an Estella Society readalong of the Shirley Jackson horror classic The Haunting of Hill House. And then there’s Trollope…. I must catch up on Trollope.

Without further ado may I present to you my TBR for September:

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier (audio)

The Collected Ghost Stories of M R James (Kindle)

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton (my Classics Club spin!)

Framley Parsonage by Anthony Trollope

The Collected Poems of William Butler Yeats

 

September will be an exciting month: settling into the new home, an exciting Autumn project I will be sharing soon, and the start of autumn baking season.

And books…. many, many, many books!

Happy Reading!

8 comments

  1. Fantastic list! I adore Rebecca, and M. R. James’s ghost stories have been on my radar for a while. Can’t wait to hear what you think!

    Good luck with the move. 🙂

  2. Hi!!!! I just want to say that I don’t use to comment a lot but I read your blog. An exciting month is coming, good luck with all your projects (reading, baking, your moving… ) 🙂

  3. Love the list! I, too, have The Secret Keeper and The Haunting of Hill House on my upcoming reads list. Love this time of year and reading with R.I.P. Hopefully, after all that clearing out, y’all will be able to get settled into your new place quicker than you think. The cooler weather can’t come quick enough for me. Happy Reading to you!

    1. By dinner time yesterday we were completely unpacked with the exception of hanging up art and installing bookshelves (I need to buy new bookshelves). I saw some red and yellow leaves this morning…. soon… soon Autumn will begin! Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

