Readerly Rambles: Trollope and an August TBR

readerly rambles

What I read: Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope rivals the very best Jane Austen has to offer. Doctor Thorne, our hero, is a good man. He is a good doctor and he really endeavors to make the right choice despite how it impacts his life. While Doctor Thorne is our hero and holds all the cards, so to speak, the plot really centers on Mary Thorne — the doctor’s niece — and Frank Gresham, Squire Gresham’s heir. Doctor Thorne has cared for the Gresham family for years and as a result Mary Thorne, who is illegitimate and poor, has grown up as a companion to the Gresham children. Of course Frank falls in love with Mary and the Gresham family is shocked and dismayed. Frank is to marry money to save the financially compromised family estate and Mary has neither money or rank. But what if Mary had money? How would things change? How important is blood and can money outweigh “bad blood?” This book was marvelous especially with the witty dialogue and the excellently drawn characters. I think I would classify Anthony Trollope’s novels as the perfect “gateway” to reading large Victorian novels. Side note, Frank and Mary reminded me of Fred Vincy and Mary Garth in Middlemarch. He is young and brash and she is all sense, but still in love. Anyone else feel that way?

What I’m reading: Tonight I plan on sinking into The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo by Tom Reiss. The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my most favorite classics and I’m looking forward to learning more about the inspiration for the novel. I also think it will be nice to read something under 400 pages and non-fiction. I need a change before I dig back into Trollope and George RR Martin!

What’s up Next: Behold! My August TBR!!!

August2014TBR

  • The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo by Tom Reiss.
  • A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin
  • In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  • Born Reading : Bringing up Bookworms in a Digital Age by Jason Boog
  • Framley Parsonage by Anthony Trollope
  • All Joy and No Fun: the Paradox of Modern Parenthood by Jennifer Senior

Let’s hope August is a readerly month, because I have many books ready to go

Happy Reading!

 

9 comments

  1. I’ve really wanted to read some Trollope. I read a lot of Elizabeth Gaskell in the winter and loved her. Trollope is next on my list for classics. Interested to see your review!

  2. It’s such fun reading the Trollope posts and watching you all fall under his spell πŸ™‚ Before I started blogging, I never met another Trollope fan, and I haven’t been able to convince any of my friends to read him. Doctor Thorne is high of my list of his favorite books – he’s such a perfect uncle, and a quiet hero.

  3. You have some great reading choices for August. I’m trying to finish up a bunch that I’ve started. Then, I don’t know where I’m going with my reading. That’s always one of the hardest things about reading….choosing the next book!

  4. Delightful to find another Trollope fan! I’ve worked my way through the Barsetshire series, and the Palliser series (my favorite series). On my list: He Knew He Was Right. I’ve been putting it off because it is soooo long, and supposedly very dark. But Dr. Thorne! It’s been long enough that I could do a reread and enjoy it all over again.

Leave a Reply

