Kindred Spirits for the Win!

I’ve had the most wonderful, friend-filled days recently.

Yesterday I worked a half-day and then met up with my friend Melissa. Melissa and I worked at the same library two years ago and she is a classic movie lover, bibliophile, and dear friend. The last time I saw Melissa I was pregnant with Persy and she was embarking on a huge out of state move to take a new job. Now she is working in Georgia again and lives only an hour away. Yay! We enjoyed some Thai food and talked about families, libraries, and books. AFter a few hours at the Thai restaurant, we went to Starbucks for coffee, cookies, and more conversation. I am a ninny and forgot to take a picture (excepting a picture of my cookie, how lame is that?). I am hopeful we can make getting together a regular occurance.

wpid-img_20140726_122544.jpg

I”m so lucky, today I got to spend the day with another friend — Catherine. That’s right, today was Caturday. I made the trip out to Athens while Sam hung out with the kids at home. First we chilled at Catherine’s house. She gifted me a cookbook from the Goodwill, The New Vegetarian Epicure — and each recipe looks divine. She also copied out a top secret-mother-of-all-scones recipe that I am eager to try.

wpid-cam01390.jpg

After a bit at her house we decided to go thrifting. Our first round of thrifting was a bit dismal. I purchased The Duke’s Children by Anthony Trollope and a collection of Chekov stories, but I didn’t see much else. Then we went to the GAP outlet and I bought some clothes for the kids. An old skool Optimus Prime shirt for Atticus and pants, pjs, a sweater, and a tank for Persy Jane.

wpid-cam01389.jpg

Then it was time for lunch. We went to my FAVORITE place: The Grit. I had a veggie omellette, taters, biscuits with yeast gravy, and coffee. It was heavenly. Luckily our server today happens to write one of my most favorite blogs, Grits and Moxie. I was finally able to introduce myself to Jennifer (I’ve seen her there before but she is always super busy and I didn’t want to disrupt her and, frankly, I was afraid I would sound like a dork introducing myself). It was so nice to meet a blogger in person and as we left Jennifer said she would love for us to do a sort of blogger meetup over coffee. That will be super exciting to get to know her better and meet even more kindred spirits.

wpid-cam01384.jpg

After our brunch, Catherine and I popped into a new yarn shop, but it was a bit sparse. Then we went to my favorite indie bookstore: Avid Bookshop. I showed great restraint and purchased a Penguin journal and some notecards. I could have gone crazy.

wpid-img_20140726_215304.jpg

Then is was another bust of a thrift store and on to the Goodwill. I hit the motherload of books at the Goodwill. I tried looking for clothes for the kids as that was the entire reason for my thrifting in the first place, but the quality of the available clothes did not match what they were going for. So I bought books, like ya do; because the kids can wear books to school. You can see the awesome spoils from the Goodwill below:

wpid-img_20140726_160842.jpg

Score!!!

After a very busy day we had a chance to hangout at Catherine’s house for about a half-hour before I had to make the journey home. There never seems to be enough time when I spend time with the people I love!

I need to remember days like today and yesterday. I can get so wrapped up into my hermitude and focus only on books, work, and family. I need to remember that my friends fill me with such love, happiness, and inspiration. Cheers to kindred spirits!

8 comments

  1. Woohoo! I made mention in Fig and Thistle! It was lovely to see you again. I was kicking myself for not remembering to take a picture of us.

  2. It was so lovely to meet you (in the real) this weekend. We definitely have to meet up soon and go book hunting ASAP. Have you been to the old Habitat For Humanity here in Athens? SO MANY BOOKS! SO CHEAP! Gah! One of my favorite spots for the written word…

Leave a Reply

