List Love: The A-Z Bookish Survey

list love

Author You’ve Read The Most Books From:

Charles Dickens. I’ve read ten of his novels, story collections, and plays. I should mention this survey applies to my adult reading habits. I’m sure I read upwards of 50 Babysitter’s Club books in the fifth grade.

Best Sequel Ever:

The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman. I found the second book in the His Dark Materials series a bit better than the first book and certainly better than this last book. I’m drawn to Will Parry’s character.

Currently Reading:

Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope and A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin

Drink of Choice while Reading:

COFFEE!!!

E-Reader or Physical Book:

I love my physical books, but I will say that my e-reader is wonderful for lunch breaks, long trips, midnight nursing sessions, and when I have sick kids. It has enhanced my reading, but in no way replaced my love of “real” books.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Dated In High School:

Unfortunately I would have wanted to date Heathcliff. A terrible man, but in high school I thought he was hot.

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance:

The Game of Thrones by George R R Martin. It was almost so hyped I didn’t try it, but I’m glad I did.

Hidden Gem Book: 

The Collected Stories of Elizabeth Bowen. I feel that Bowen’s short stories don’t get the credit they deserve. Each story it masterfully constructed. Everyone must read this collection NOW.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

This is a difficult question and I should probably write a separate post on influential moments in my life as a reader. I will go with my earliest reading memory of my mom reading the unabridged Alice in Wonderland to me when I was in 1st grade. I sat through an hour of her reading this to me each night and I begged for more.

Just Finished: 

Dear Life by Alice Munro

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: 

Erotica, Chick Lit, most Sci-Fi, vapid YA.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. That chunkster clocked in at over 1300+ pages.

Major Book Hangover Because Of:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J K Rowling. I had a month long book hangover when that series wrapped.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Three full-sized in the study, one set of built-ins in the living room, and two small waist high shelves.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: 

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. I read this book every other year and I think I’m up to about 12 reads.

Preferred Place To Read: 

In a cozy, snug chair at a coffee shop.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read. 

“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.
– Atticus Finch” from Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird

Reading Regret: 

Alias, Grace by Margaret Atwood

Series You Started and Need to Finish:

A Song of Fire and Ice by George R R Martin

Three of Your All Time Favourite Books: 

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. By the way, I went with the first three that popped into my head and I’ve since thought of a dozen more.

Unapologetic Fangirl For: 

 Harry Potter, Sylvia Plath, Charlotte Bronte, Anthony Trollope, Wilkie Collins, and Charles Dickens

Very Excited For This Release More Than Others:

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters!

Worst Bookish Habit:

Dogearing the pages of my paperback books.

X Marks The Spot: start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

I’m using my TBR list for this year as I’m not near my shelves. The winner is: Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons (a re-read)

Your Latest Book Purchase:

A lovely Vintage Classics copy of Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell for 50 cents at a thrift shop

ZZZ-Snatcher  book (last book that kept you up WAY Late)

The Game of Thrones by George R R Martin. I have a new rule that I am not allowed to read epic high fantasy novels before bed.

AtoZsurvey-1017x1024

Brought to you by The Perpetual Page Turner!

8 comments

  1. Lovely post, it was a pleasure to read through your list :). I’m glad that you favour both physical books and e-books, because I think they’re perfectly compatible. And that quote from “To Kill a Mockingbird”… ❤ I'm with you in your love for the book.

    Now, you would have dated Heathcliff, seriously? Wow!

    1. I love To Kill A Mockingbird so much (in fact, that is why my little boy is named Atticus). And yes, I would have dated Heathcliff as I had a thing for bad boys. Now I’m married to a Mr. Darcy and very happy. I’m so glad I gave up on the Heathcliffs of the world!

  2. Awesome answers! I love that quote from TKAM. Also, I had a weird thing for Heathcliff in high school, too. That would have been my answer!

  3. So many similar answers! Favorite books, book we’re glad we gave a chance, book hangover, genres we don’t normally read, etc. My answers were almost exactly the same : )

Leave a Reply

