Care and Keeping of Me: A temporary fall from veganism

Vegetarian-Times-June-July-2014
Last week I fell off the vegan train. I was so sick and my throat was so swollen. Sam brought me Chinese takeout of lo mein (couldn’t swallow it the first day) and egg drop soup. I sucked down that egg drop soup like some sort of dying, thirsting, crazy woman. And I ate a half-container of vanilla ice cream throughout my illness.

This is where being vegan gets tricky for me. Basically I don’t want to be an absolute dick while being vegan and my choices while sick were slim. I could have:

1) Told Sam (via text message because I really couldn’t speak) to whip me up some homemade tofu miso soup or make me some DIY vegan ice cream. After all, he was only working, doing school work, taking care of three kids and trying to sanitize my house. No big deal asking him to familiarize himself with ingredients he has never worked with to make my meals.

OR

2) Taken the emergency money and sent Sam to Kroger (no Whole Foods or EarthFare in my neck of the woods) to by $5 pints of coconut ice cream, $3 cans of soup, and maybe some other things for me to dine on. I mean what other emergencies could there be? It doesn’t matter that we spent $150 in copays for the both of us to go to the doctor (yeah, Sam was ill by Friday), $50 for prescriptions, and another $30 for tissues, Lysol, cough drops, and OTC meds. What’s another $50 in food for me?

OR

3) Thankfully accepted the cheap $10 Chinese takeout, eat the ice cream already in my freezer, sleep a ton, and worry about diet next week. In other words, don’t make my husband’s life hell.
I chose to NOT be an asshole vegan. If Sam wasn’t busy and liked to cook I would have chosen option 1. If my finances were better I would have picked option 2. However, my husband works 50+ hours in week, is in school full time, and we have three kids and we are flat ass broke. Yes, option 3 was the right choice.

Now that I’m well I am back to eating vegan. I’m still not 100% vegan because I REALLY don’t like being an asshole vegan. I can’t eat flesh, so I absolutely refuse beef, pork, chicken, and fish.  But if the baby feeds me a goldfish I eat it. If the waiter brings my no cheese/no mayo veggie burger out on a buttery toasted bun I eat.

Returning to vegan cooking is exciting; I missed the color, flavor, texture, and overall deliciousness of vegan food. Last night I cooked baked curry tofu, rice, and a big stir-fry with peppers, broccoli, and mushroom. It was healthful and delicious. My most recent issue of Vegetarian Times arrived the other day and I have my beautiful Pinboard of ideas. Methinks it is time to start planning next weeks meals.
5 comments

  1. Egg drop soup really does cure all colds. Sometimes you have to do what needs to be done and make up the difference later.

  2. Right on. Taking the road less asshole is a good idea when it comes to the well being and sanity of your family. Almost all of the time. There are some Christmas/extended family scenarios that don’t count.

  3. I’ve subscribed to Vegetarian Times for more than 15 years. I love that magazine even though I’m not a vegetarian. I just love vegetarian food and eat it whenever I can. You’ll have to let us know if you make anything out of this issue! Let me know if it’s good!!! Only one out of all the recipes I’ve tried has been a dud. I get lots of great ideas. Do you know I just recently threw away back issues from 15 years ago? I did go through and rip out my favorite recipes. Now I have them in a notebook. Happy cooking.

  4. I have been a vegetarian for decades, but at certain times I go with the “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy, especially when eating out. Sometimes, I just don’t want to know what the soup base is! (And I will never give up Thai food, which typically uses fish sauce.)

    Glad you are well!

Leave a Reply

