Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon Begins

READALLTHETHINGS

 

Hi! (excited Kermit the frog wave). It is my favorite day in April — Readathon day. I’ll be updating this page throughout the day to chart my readathon progress. Stop by at hour 8 for my mini-challenge. I’ll be on GoodReads, Twitter, and Instagram today. Look over there  >>>>>>>>>>>

Stats

Pages Read: 571
Currently Reading:  Dear Life by Alice Munro

Books Finished: 2

 

***Update for Hour 17***

I finished The Night Guest and it was BRILLIANT. A dark, gripping Shirley Jackson-like novel. I also spent several hours on twitter. I skipped visiting blogs as in the past I encounter so many inactive ones or blogs with obnoxious captchas. Twitter and Instagram are AWESOME for readathon. I wanted to finish my short story collection, Dear Life, but my reading plans this evening were encumbered by two small children who typically go to bed between 8 and 9. Nope. 10pm folks, 10pm. I may be able to read in the morning or if I’m up with Persy Jane tonight, but I doubt it. My brain is mush.

***Update for Hour 9***

I finished another Munro story and am half-way through The Night Guest. I am enthralled and terrified by The Night Guest; its has a Shirley Jackson feeling to it and I adore it. My eyes are tired and Sam says the kids are grouchy. I may be taking a break for a few hours and then reading after the young ones are in bed. I’ll be announcing the prize-winner for the Bookish Brews winner in about 15 minutes!

***Update for Hour 4***

I started and completed How to be Vegan by Elizabeth Castoria. I read an Alice Munro story from Dear Life. I struggled through 50 pages of My Life in Middlemarch by Rebecca Mead. I’m shelving that book. Weaving her personal biography along with extensive rehashing of the novel and a dilettante of a biography of George Eliot just isn’t working for me.  I’m off to play with the kiddos for a few hours and then I’ll be back!


 

Start Up Quiz:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?  Gainesville, GA!
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?  The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane and finishing My Life in Middlemarch by Rebecca Mead
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Does coffee count? Oh, and double stuffed Oreos
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! Oh gosh. I’m excited to read. My birthday is tomorrow and this is the best present I could ask for!
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? My husband is playing single parent most of the day so I can hang out in libraries and coffee shops and have undisturbed reading for most of the day. He currently has a cranky teething toddler and a rambunctious 3 year-old in tow. My husband, Sam, is the sweetest and the best.

9 comments

  1. You know, I should try a read-a-thon on my birthday. That’s an awesome idea! The trouble is my birthday is in July…and I don’t know any read-a-thons at that time.

  2. I’ve got The Night Guest on my TBR. Glad to hear it’s great! I definitely love the Readathon even more since I started using Twitter to cheer, too, but there’s still something great about doing it the “old fashioned way” too. LOL. Have a good rest, and here’s hoping you make it up in time to squeeze in a little reading at the end! #TeamRogue

Leave a Reply

