Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Bucket Lists!

toptentuesday
Today’s theme for Top Ten Tuesday is to discuss our bookish bucket list. Participants can discuss book, blog, writing, etc… related goals. I thought I could get really specific and discuss number of books I want to read or a particular series, but I thought that was kind of limiting. I’ll be 34 next month and I’m hopeful I’ll live until I’m at least 80. I don’t know what path my reading will take between now and then. I’ve tweaked this a bit to make it my bookish goals to complete by my 40th birthday (which will happen 27 April 2020).
1. Complete my Classics Club challenge of reading 100 Classic Books: I hope to meet this goal by April of 2017. I am considering a classic as a quality book published prior to 1965. I know that is sort of an arbitrary number, but I didn’t want to get into the “modern day classic” debate as the purpose is to read older things. I may do a different challenge after this one and read 100 modern day classics.
2. Apply to Graduate School: Sam is working on his undergraduate degree in Art Education and we have two small kids; needless to say the idea of graduate school while Sam is studying and we have little ones is daunting. We did decide that I will apply for graduate school when Persy enters Kindergarten in 2018. I know I want to do one of two things: 1). Get my Masters in Library and Information Science and keep working in libraries OR 2) get two graduate degrees, an MFA in Creative Writing and then a Masters in Clinical Counseling and work with teaching creative writing in therapy. I also really like the idea of teaching college-level creative writing.
3. Successfully complete NaNoWriMo: I’m going to try this year!

4. Travel to England: For our tenth wedding anniversary (January of 2020) I’d like to go to England purely for bookish enjoyment. I want to visit bookshops and literary landmarks.
5. Meet my book-blog buddies: I’d especially love to meet Andi, Heather, and Thomas!

6. Have a sacred space in my home solely dedicated to books and reading: It can be a room or a nook. I’m picturing a cozy chair, nice lamps, shelves of books…. Not a room of books littered with office papers and other random pieces of junk (totally my current situation).
7. Impart (or attempt to impart) on my kids a love of reading: Bedtime stories, summer trips to the library every Saturday, bookish gifts for birthdays and Christmas. I’ve accepted that Hope is not a reader. She is very kinetic; she feels about running the way I feel about books and that is OKAY. Maybe Persy and /or Atticus will be my bookworm(s)?
8. Actively work with literacy based-charities: I plan on applying to be a World Book Night giver every year and I am also coordinating our library as a book box pickup site. I’d also like to get involved in our public library’s Friends of the Library group. In addition, I’d like to keep doing our library’s book drive every Christmas.
9. Fill a journal every year: I keep a journal and I try to fill one up every year. I write about day to day things, but I also try to include mementos, quotations, recipes, etc… I have to make it a priority to write at least 3 times a week or I tend to put the journal down and not pick it up again.
10. Meet a famous author I love: Margaret Atwood, Susan Hill, and Sarah Waters are top contenders. Even if it is a cursory meeting at a book signing I would be pleased as punch.

What’s your bookish bucket list? Let me know in the comments!
11 comments

  1. Heck yeah for visiting England! I did a crazy number of bookish things there (Dicken’s museum, Platform 9 3/4, British Library, Poet’s Corner in Westminster) there’s so much to see!

  2. I want to visit England too! I’m also not ashamed to admit that I have thought about a Forks, WA,/Seattle trip. I would love to re-meet Rainbow Rowell and not put my foot in my mouth this time. Margaret Atwood or Donna Tartt would be great too.

  3. I love your choices. England sounds like it would be awesome; I hope you make it there! I also like the goal about getting your kids exposed to books and reading. Great plan. 🙂

  4. What a wonderful list! You have some kickass ambitious goals, girl! I kind of want to stow away in your suitcase when you go to England… Or when you go to meet Andi and Heather. Or both :).

  5. I love the idea if getting a Master’s in Library Science. One of the things on my bookish things on my bucket list would be to own a bookstore. There’s a perfect location down the street from me. Maybe one day . . .

  6. NaNoWriMo has been on my list for a while. But it always seems that it sneaks up on me and then I’m in the middle of holiday prep and fail miserably. Maybe if you blog about it, it will remind me. 🙂

  7. I always love your lists! I’m with you on that trip to England, meeting bloggers that I love to read, and esp. the thought of working with literacy based charities. I keep thinking I would like to do something like that once I have my last bird out of the nest. BTW, I got a blog access request from you, but it doesn’t give me a way of replying. Just wanted to let you know that it is “private” because there isn’t anything there to read. I set it up a few years back as a place to record my completed books and TBR lists after I had a hard drive failure and lost my Word document records. That was before I had ever heard of Good Reads or Library Thing. I’ve thought about moving to one of those, but I’m a little slow with technology and haven’t made the time to figure it out yet. My kids keep telling me that I need to start a “real” blog…let’s just say that that would be another thing on my bookish bucket list. 🙂 Happy Hump Day!

  8. That’s a darn fine list, I’d say. My sweetie and I want to go to England for our 25th anniversary next year. (We’d originally planned to go for our 20th, but kids/lack of money made us postpone.) I so hope you get there for your 10th! And I hope everything else on your list comes true too!

Leave a Reply

