Readerly Rambles: 03/13/2014

renoirGirl Reading by Pierre-Auguste Renoir

What I read:
William: An Englishman by Cicely Hamilton. This Persephone classic was quite thought provoking and warrants a stand-alone review. Maybe I’ll work on that for sometime next week. Other than that I just finished a spat of graphic novel reading and I wrote about that here.

What I’m reading:

I’m on a non-fiction spurt right now. I’m nearly done with Claire Tomalin’s The Invisible Woman: The Story of Charles Dickens and Nelly Ternan. I read her biography of Charles Dickens a few years ago and really enjoyed it. I’m enjoying this book as well, although it feels a bit too close to the biography I read (kinda feels like re-reading). It is fascinating, especially because the focus is on Charles Dickens’ actress-mistress Nelly Ternan. It underscores that while I love Victorian literature there is no way in Hades I’d want to be a woman in Victorian England.

I’m also reading Francine Prose’s Reading Like a Writer. Essentially, the book breaks down the elements of a written work (paragraph, dialogue, etc…) and explains that reading the work of masters and looking at the construction of these elements is greatly beneficial to one’s writing. Her examples are varied containing works from different genres, time periods, authors, and cultures. This book is also increasing my book appetite. Now I want to read and re-read the literature discussed.

What’s Up Next:

I have a few books lined up next. First off Anthony Trollope’s The Warden for Trollope2014; I’m all set to start that this weekend. I’d also like to squeeze in Jeanette Winterson’s slim novel, The Daylight Gate. I also nabbed a copy of Alice Munro’s short-story collection, Too Much Happiness. I’ve never read Munro and that is just straight up wrong.

Lucky Me Readathon:

It is my turn to work the Sunday shift at the library this weekend. That means working both Saturday and Sunday. This means that I have Monday off. I thought I’d spend the day doing a wee readathon. I say that with some trepidation; there has been a swath of illness at the daycare and I’m just waiting for the kids to catch some flu/bronchitis/puking disease. Obviously, if I have sick kiddos at home there will be popsicle making and watching 900 hours of Superwhy instead of reading. (cross your fingers, y’all. I could use a reading day).

That’s this week’s Readerly Rambles. Let me know what you’re reading in the comments.

One comment

  1. Your non-fiction reading really sounds good. I just finished The Four Feathers by A.E.W. Mason, which I enjoyed far more than I anticipated, and have moved on to Jacqueline Winspear’s Messenger of Truth. I’m thinking the next book I start will be something older – I’m feeling that itch for something Victorian after reading your ‘rambles’. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

