Graphic Novel Roundup

graphic novel collage

I wanted to pop in for a minute to do a brief roundup on the graphic novels I read this month. I read a graphic novel each Sunday in February. I’m going to try to keep the reviews brief and tweet-like:

Cubs in Toyland, Fables #18 by Bill Willingham: A favorite. One of the cubs becomes a queen of her own land but at a dreadful price. The reader also learns of how Bigby Wolf “earned” his fate. Highly recommend.

Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol: A Russian-immigrant teen is navigating life in her New England prep school and struggles with identity. Then she meets a seemingly helpful ghost Emily. Commence creepy shenanigans. I liked this book at first but hated the ending. If only Joe Hill had written this. Meh.

Relish by Lucy Knisley: This graphic novel memoir was a treat. Lucy manages to discuss all of her life’s major events: her parent’s divorce, her first period, college, first jobs, etc… in relation to food. There are even recipes! My favorite of the month!

Calling Dr. Laura by Nicole Georges: I was draw-in by the beautiful artwork and the chickens, I stayed for the story. This graphic memoir is part coming-out story and part coming to terms with the author’s tumultuous childhood with an unstable mother who tells Nicole her father is dead. I enjoyed this, but I thought the transitions weren’t very smooth. Fans of Fun Home will enjoy it, but it isn’t as good as Fun Home in my estimation.

Let me know what graphic novels you read this month? Do you agree or disagree with my reviews. Let’s chat!

6 comments

  1. Thanks for this, I am really interested in graphic novels, but the only one I have in the 746 is Building Stories by Chris Ware. I’m really looking forward to it, but I think it’s going to take me about a month to read! Relish looks fantastic!

  2. I haven’t met a person yet who doesn’t love Relish. It’s such a good book. Cubs in Toyland is fantastic, one of the best books in the series. It sounds like this month of graphic reading went well.

    I still haven’t forgotten your StartWrite letter. I’ll put it in the mail this weekend. 🙂

  3. I loved Relish last month too. I meant to get to Anya’s ghost but didn’t quite make it all the way down my stack. Bummer about the ending. Seems people either really like this one or don’t.

Leave a Reply

