Chronicles of Barsetshire Readalong!

Chronicles

Back in January (while all three kids had a stomach plague) I was on Twitter talking books. Melissa at Avid Reader’s Musings was raving about Jo Walton’s Tooth and ClawTooth and Claw is essentially — according to the author — a retelling of Anthony Trollope’s Framley Parsonage WITH DRAGONS. Yes, Victorian love triangles, and inheritance woes, and marriage complications, and class issues, and DRAGONS. It was awesome and I highly recommend it.

Anyhoo, we were talking (tweeting) about how much we loved the book and as a result we both wanted to read Framley Parsonage. Then one of us discovered it was part of the Barsetshire series and, well, the rest is history. The Barsetshire readalong was born.

We’ll be reading one book of the series each month beginning in March:

March: The Warden
April: Barchester Towers
May: Doctor Thorne
June: Framley Parsonage
July: The Small House at Allington
August: The Last Chronicle of Barset

What a great way to get started with a new author and tuck in six classics under my belt before the summer is over! We’ll each post something about the new book at the beginning of the month and then we’ll each do a closing review/post at the end of the month. Easy Peasy. No check-ins or crazy schedules, but we will be discussing on Twitter with the #Trollope2014. By the way, Melissa did the lovely button; feel free to nab it.

Confession: I’ve never read Trollope. I always intend to but I think I was just intimidated. Anthony Trollope wrote two full series and the standalone novels are quite thick. Where to begin? Barsetshire. I will begin in Barsetshire.

Let me know if you’ll join in on the fun!

16 comments

  1. Hi, My name is Rita and I live in New york, NY. I also have wanted to read Trollope, and never have done so. Hopefully joining you will help me in doing so. I just followed you on Twitter this afternoon.

  2. YES! Actually, I’ve read through Dr. Thorne (but trust me, I need the head start). I’ve had Framley Parsonage on my monthly stack since the first of the year, but haven’t gotten to it yet. I don’t know why I’ve had such trouble getting through this series. When I read them, I enjoy them. This will help me get my classic reading in as well.

  3. Can’t believe what a coincidence this is. I happened to download The Barsetshire Chronicles last month. Finished The Warden and onto Barsetshire Towers now. I’ve downloaded the whole series onto my phone so I don’t know how far I’ve read too. Better get my skates on if I want to start Dr Thorne on 1st May.

Leave a Reply

