Literary Love: Book Lists!

literarylove (1)

 

In keeping with the spirit of Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d list some books I love.

I’ve selected my top 10 classics (written prior to 1964) and my top 10 modern works (post 1964). I truly went with my initial books that popped into my head and tried very hard to sub other books in or over-analyze.

Here we go!

Top Ten Classics:

classicslove

1) The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
2) To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
3) Bleak House by Charles Dickens
4) Middlemarch by George Eliot
5) The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
6) The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
7) Villette by Charlotte Bronte
8) The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
9) Uncle Silas by Sheridan Le Fanu
10) I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

Top Ten Modern Works:

modernlove

1) The Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman
2) The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
3) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
4) Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
5) The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
6) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
7) The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter
8) The Secret History by Donna Tartt
9) The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
10) Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

I think it is safe to say that I love fat books. I’m a chunky book chaser!

How about you? What books do you love?

8 comments

  1. Visiting from Literary love and I love your list. The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my absolute favourite classics, if not favourite 🙂 I enjoyed reading The Historian too.

  2. I LOVE Return of the Native. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone else list it as a book they love – so I’m excited. I loved it so much that if I ever had a daughter, I wanted to name here Thomasin.

  3. I love several of those on your list – but not sure how many I’d love enough for top tens! I’m impressed by how quickly you did it – I would love to do this instinctively too! Alas, on reading your post on the train I’ve already thought too much and have gone way beyond ten possibles!!!

  4. Haha, I think those are called chubby-chasers, right? 😉

    I love both of your lists. The Sunne in Splendor is one that I just heard about, but it sounds amazing and comes equipped with about a zillion raving reviews. I can’t wait to read it!

  5. I do love me a list, and these are great choices. The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my all-time favorite chunksters as is Gaskell’s North and South. I haven’t read as many modern titles, but I’ve almost picked up The Secret History a few times this year at the book store. I’m waiting until I have time to actually sit down and read it (and have released myself from the only-reading-from-home ban 😉 ).

  6. I have read and love the books in your classics list except Uncle Silas (need to read) and The Moonstone (didn’t love). I’ve had The Sunne in Splendour sitting on my shelf at home for so long. Obviously I need to read it now!

Leave a Reply

