Classics Club Spin #5!

spin5

Yay! It is time for the  Classics Club Spin #5! This is my favorite Classics Club challenge. I’m insanely OCD about reading and I usually get hung up on picking from my vast array of classics. This challenge is the perfect marriage between OCD and laid back; my organized self gets to make a list, but the spin element adds spontaneity. I’m a happy girl.

Here’s my list. I’m really sticking to only picking books from prior to 1964. I’ll be back on Monday to post my winning book once the number is announced.

5 Books for Upcoming Events/ Projects/ Challenges:

1. The Wreath by Sigrid Undset

2. Westwood by Stella Gibbons

3. A Man of Quality by Anthony Powell

4. The Warden by Anthony Trollope

5. Under the Net by Iris Murdoch

5 Books from my Kindle:

6. Miss Buncle’s Book by D. E. Stevenson

7. They Found Him Dead by Georgette Heyer

8. Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell

9. Gaudy Night by Dorothy Sayers

10. The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald

5 Books New to my Stacks:

11. The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens

12. A Kid for Two Farthings by Wolf Mankowitz

13. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

14. East of Eden by John Steinbeck

15. The Way Things Are by E.M. Delafield

5 Penguin Thread Deluxe Classics:

16. The Wizard of Oz by Frank L. Baum

17. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

18. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

19. Little Women by Louisa M. Alcott

20. Emma by Jane Austen

Alright, I am all set. Let me know if your playing along!

15 comments

  1. What a fun list! You have a Dorothy Sayers included! I have plans to read all her Peter Wimsey mysteries when I have some free time. And another Stella Gibbons that I hadn’t heard of! Thanks for the tip! I can’t wait to see what number comes up. Good luck!

  2. I love your categories, and you have some really great books listed here! Lots of different ones, which is nice to see. Any that you’re dreading?

  3. I have The Wreath on my spin list, too! I’m definitely reading The Wind in the Willows with a Goodreads group this month, so I left it off my list.

    Good luck!

  4. You’ve got some great books on your list! I spun Les Miserables last time, unfortunately I didn’t end up enjoying it as much as I had hoped, but I was happy to try it and get through it.

    And I love your last category 🙂

  5. I love your original categories – this is one of the better lists that I’ve seen. Many on your list are sitting on my TBR, which has me doubly motivated to blow the dust off of them.

  6. Oh! I like your stack! The Secret Garden and East of Eden are fantastic reads! Own the Penguin Thread books are a plus. I hope you end up with a book you enjoy.

  7. I just read The Wizard of Oz, but not with such a stunning cover. I ♥ Penguin Thread covers.

    I’ve been wanting to read The Wreath by Sigrid Undset, but I kept my 50 in 5 list to things published prior to 1900’s, so it didn’t make the cut. I hear the Miss Buncle’s Book’s by D. E. Stevenson are great fun.

  8. Wow I haven’t heard of the majority of your books and I was an English major. I’m impressed. I do love East of Eden, probably my most favorite book of all time. I hope you get this one.

Leave a Reply

