Readerly Rambles: 12/11/2013 edition

ImageWhat I’ve Read:  I’ve finished two books recently; The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood. The Book Thief was successful in making me do the Ugly Cry with full on Nancy Kerrigan moans of “whhhhyyyyyyy??????” and buckets of tears and snot. I’m holding off on a review because I’d like to see the movie and review it in conjunction to the book. Oryx and Crake was a reread from my pre-blogging days. I’m waiting to review it until I finish the other two book in the trilogy. I have compiled some interesting notes and I cannot wait to see how things pan out for the Crackers and their post-apocalyptic world.

What I’m Reading: Right now I’m midway through Wilkie Collins’s The Frozen Deep for Wilkie in Winter. This slim novella is a fairly quick read, but I put it down to pick up something else and I keep forgetting to finish.

I’m also just over a 100 pages in George Eliot’s Middlemarch. I read this book back in the summer of 2003, but I remember very little of it. The first 100 pages encompasses the reader’s introduction to the heroine of the tale, Dorothea Brooke. Miss Brooke is passionate about learning and wants to lead a meaningful life of helping others. She is naive and becomes engaged and then married to a morose, dried-up man: Rev. Casaubon. Casaubon reminds me a bit of St. John Rivers from Jane Eyre in that he views marriage and love as utilitarian necessities to facilitate his own selfish ideas. There are so many more characters and side plots introduced in the first book and I’m eager to keep reading.

Image

What’s Next: I plan on completing The Frozen Deep this week and Middlemarch will stretch until the end of the month. I’ve also set a goal of completing Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy before January 1st. If I’m really good and finish before the end of the month I’ll probably throw in some YA lit and graphic novels to end the year.

This leads me to talking about next year’s reading! I’ve noticed several book bloggers (including my buddies Andi and Heather) developing a list of ten books for winter (roughly 12/21 – sometime in March). I love that idea, but I rather make it a dozen books and have it run from January 1st until March 31st. I love having January 1st as my “clean start”.

 
Image
Here are my 1st Quarter TBR books!

Bobcat by Rebecca Lee

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

A Dance to the Music of Time, volume 1 by Anthony Powell

The Nice and the Good by Iris Murdoch

Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

No Name by Wilkie Collins

The Haunted Hotel by Wilkie Collins

Wiliam: An Englishman by Cicely Hamilton

Nothing Sacred: Selected Writings by Angela Carter

The Wreath by Sigrid Undset

The Wife by Sigrid Undset

Iris Murdoch: A Life by Peter Conradi

I know that I am being quite ambitious, but I am very determined to let reading become a major priority. Read on people, read on!

9 comments

  1. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Middlemarch! I agree that the characters are what keep things interesting. I’m only a little ways into Book 3 and very curious about how things are going to progress…

  2. I just finished making a first quarter reading list, too! Weird. I’ve never organized my reading so strictly before, but I think I’m feeling the same way — motivated to knock some ancient contenders off the list. Your schedule looks great, by the way. So much Wilkie. 🙂

  3. Woo hoo! I love seeing all that Wilkie on your list. I do hope to read more by him this coming year. Part of me holds off because once I read them all, no more Wilkie, but damn, it’s freaking WILKIE! Must read all the books! I can’t wait to read The Woman in White with every one. I can’t wait to see what they think of the Count. He’s my favorite villian, like, ever.

Leave a Reply

