A Very Merry Advent Begins

On the whole we had a pretty good Thanksgiving break. I spent the first two days while the kids were in daycare hanging out with Hope. We saw Catching Fire and loved it. I cleared out the study and organized my bookshelves. I did some reading and knitting. All in all it was pretty peaceful.

Wednesday I hung out with the kids while Sam was at work. That day is an absolute blur. I know it was busy, but I couldn’t tell you what we did.

Thursday Persy was ill and so Thanksgiving was on hold. We laid around the house, I made some chili, and we enjoyed some nog while dragging out the Christmas decorations. Friday was a continuation of caring for a sick wee one and a bored surly tot. I made a simple meal of brown rice pilaf, roasted vegetables, and baked apples. I think I ventured out to the grocery store at some point.

Saturday was awesome. The kids — all three — were so awesomely well-behaved. We did some crafts in the morning and played with legos. Atticus and Persy both took solid naps. I went out and knocked out more than half of our Christmas shopping. I even had a chance to read some Oryx and Crake while enjoying a snowman sugar cookie at Starbucks and giggling over the irony. That evening Hope helped me decorate the Christmas tree and we even had a giggly break for “Christmas selfies”.

Sunday was mostly prepping for returning to work that evening for a late shift. However, it was also the start of Advent! Yeah! I’m using A Very Merry Advent by Heidi Kenney and Amanda Krueger. I got so much for $12! The guide is filled with ideas for crafts, projects, recipes, and creative ways to celebrate. I filled out my calendar a few weeks ago and our advent celebrations are underway! On December 1st I printed out gift tags (my favorites are the vintage Pyrex tags) and this evening I made some maple cinnamon spiced nuts.  My favorite part about A Very Merry Advent is that the activities are not expensive and they are simple. I tend to be far too idealistic with my plans and then end up disappointed. Just breaking out the Silk Soy Nog, listening to some Sufjan Stevens Christmas Jams, and cutting out tags certainly filled me with holiday cheer.

On the docket for the rest of this week’s advent celebrations include coloring Christmas pages with the kids, making cocoa mix, addressing cards, whipping up a ginger quick bread, and sending out my Broke and Bookish Secret Santa gift. Yay! Merry Christmas!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

One comment

Leave a Reply

